Swansea and Port Talbot Docks History

Swansea Docks Engineering Staff - more photos

Charlie Grey, Anon, Tony Harrison, Anon, Hopkin Hopkins, Des Burns, Wally Evans, John Ware and Roy Jefferies.

Left to right, Ron Payne, Glyn Morgan, Dennis Davies and Jeff Lye. (Photo: Frankie James). Overhauling a turntable on the coal hoists.

Con Rosser, Sid Greaves, Len Vaughan, Cliff Butt and Will Bevan. 

Foreman fitter Cliff Harvey outside the old Dockmaster's House which was his family home for many years. Prior to that it had been occupied by Chief Mechanical Foreman George Jones

Electrical engineering staff at Swansea Docks

Anon, Jack Charlesworth, Phil Davies, George Morgan and John Pilot

Ronnie Payne and Dai Thomas

Seated L to R :- Bill Owen, Frank James, Tommy Lloyd and Will Thomas. Standing L to R :- Ron Toulcher, Jeff Lye, Glyn Morgan, Alan Davies, Ken McColl and Albert Grey

Gwyn Nicholls, Joe Banfield and Len Vaughan

Ray Vaughan ( driver ) and Will Longman

Alf Logan, Reg Stevens, Worthy Hall, Cliff Davies, Edgar ? and Billy Edmunds, all stores personnel

Ferry Port team May 1990. Left to right :- Paul Smith, Alan Dicataldo, Viv Howells, Peter Lodwig, Phil Davies and Ron Robbins.

Brian Davies (Mechanical supervisor) & Ivor Lewis (Electrical Supervisor) switched off the water hydraulic pumps controlling the lock gates for the last time. A computerised oil hydraulic system has now been installed.

Jeff Manning, Ivor Lewis, Viv Howells, Gerald Samson, Bill Lewis, Kevin Hughes, Jack Taylor, Bill Tompkins, Glyn Morgan, Ben Spanner, John Pope and Graham Green.

Back to Engineering Staff