Retired Section Swansea Docks

 

     Ron's index page     Home Page

 

A  CHRONOLOGY  OF  BRISTOL  CHANNEL  SHIPWRECKS

COMPILED  BY RON  TOVEY

dawnwindeasing

1687-  1983
BRISTOL  CHANNEL  SHIPWRECKS

1687-  The  “Mary  of   Newham”,  Pyle  for  Bristol.  Wrecked  on  Margam  Sands.
1703 - The “Richard and John” & her prize the “Bandera”  from Virginia were both lost with all hands at the entrance to the river Avon.
1705 - Two customs boats wrecked at  the entrance to the river Avon with the loss of 22 officers.
1737 - The snow “Pye” and the brig” Priscilla” carrying tobacco from Virginia, both went aground at Nash Point. Some 300-400 people stripped the ships of their cargo . They even burnt the hulls to get the ironwork.
1739-  February  19th.  The  sloop  “Mary”  wrecked  at  the  mouth  of  the  Kenfig  River.
1752 - The Indian Prince, of Bristol, with a cargo of sugar, rum, cotton, ebony and ivory, from Guinea, went aground at Stout Point, Llantwit Major. The cargo was looted freely by the local people.
1753-  December  12th ,  “Le  Vainquer”  a  French  vessel  bound  for  Bristol,  was  wrecked  off  Sker  Point.  Eight  crew  saved  but  two  perished.
1757-  9th  September  - the collier Marie wrecked at Lundy with the loss of all hands.
1760-  28th  November  -The Admiralty tender Caesar (Captain Adam Hood) with a smaller tender named Reeves were lying at anchor in Mumbles Roads waiting to set sail on a  Press Gang mission along the coast. The Caesar set sail for Carmarthen Bay but the weather was severe and he told his pilot to take the boat back to Mumbles. The pilot made an error and mistook Pwlldu Head on the Gower for Mumbles Head and as a result the ship hit the rocks near the headland. Some of the crew got ashore and climbed the cliffs, but during the night the ship broke up and the 68 pressed men already taken aboard, who were locked in the hold, all died. The place on the headland where the bodies were buried is known as Gravesend.
1767 -   the  brigantine  “Friendship”,  Philadelphia  for  Bristol,  was  driven  ashore  on  the  backside  of  Whitford  Burrows.  Two  crewmembers  perished.
1768 – April,  the  “Eagle”,  Pisagua  in  Chile  for  Bristol  was  wrecked  at  Whitford  Point.
1769-  January,  the French ship  “ La Concorde”  carrying rum and brandy capsized near Aberthaw, Glamorgan. It is said that before the officials were able to get to her some 2000 people had gathered and were attacking the wreck  with hatchets to "save" the cargo. 35 people are said to have died on the beach from excessive drinking  and were buried there.
1770-  On 3rd  June  the Dutch West India-man “Planters Welvard”  on passage from Surinam to the Netherlands was blown off course and into the Bristol Channel where she was blown ashore at Porthcawl Point. Fifteen  crew  and  passengers  perished,  including  three  children named  Jackert  who  were  on their way to school in the Netherlands.  The  cargo  of  coffee,  cocoa  and  cotton  was  plundered  by  the  locals.  The  victims  of  this  shipwreck  were  buried  in  Newton  graveyard.
1776 – July  7th,  the  Padstow  sloop  “Seaflower”,  foundered  off  Pwll  Du.  The  body  of  the  Master,  Captain  Thomas  Retallick  was  washed  up  on  Oxwich  beach  and  lies  buried  in  the  churchyard
1781-  December  28th .  The  “Caterina”  ran  onto  Sker  Point.  Hundreds  of  local  people  converged  on  the  wreck  and  started  plundering  the  cargo  of  cotton,  currants,  brandy  and  other  goods  totally  indifferent  to  the  sufferance  of  the  crew.  The  newly  formed  Fellowship  put  a  guard  on  the  ship  and  a  riot  broke  out  which  resulted  in  three  people  being  killed.  The  looters  were  later  arrested  and  transferred  to  Hereford  gaol  to prevent  the  locals  from  releasing  them.  One  man  called  John  Webb  was  later  hanged.
1782 – the  “Endeavour”,  Hayle  for  Swansea  with  copper  ore,  was  driven  ashore  and  wrecked  at  Oxwich  Point.
1784 – January  10th,  the  “Saetia  Mazzed”  was  driven  ashore  at  Llangennith  and  wrecked.
1785 – the  “Leverpool”,  a  Bristol  bound  vessel  was  run  down  off  Worms  Head  by  a  vessel  bound  for  Swansea.  Five  of  her  crew  were  drowned.
1790 – July  23rd,  a  Swansea  pilot  vessel  capsized  off  the  Mumbles  and  drowned  the  pilot,  his  son  and  three  assistants.
1790 – the  “Resolution”,  London  for  Barnstable,  sank  off  Worms  Head  with  the  loss  of  all  hands.
1793 – November,  the  “Hayle  Trader”,  Bristol  to  Hayle,  foundered  off  the  Mumbles.
1794 – March,  the  sloop  “Eliza”,  Bridgewater  for  Liverpool,  lost  with  all  hands  on  the  Mixon  shoal.
1797-  February  25th.  The  “Wyndam”  outward  bound  from  Neath to  Watchet, ran  onto  the  Nash  Sands.  Two  crew  members  were  saved  but  the  rest  along  with  the  vessel  were  lost.
1797 - The  “Sisters”  of  St  Ives,  for  Neath  went  down  with  all  hands  off  Worms  Head.
1798-  An  unknown  troop  transport  vessel  on  her  way  from  Bristol  to  Ireland,  carrying  troops  to  put  down  a  rebellion,  ran  aground  on  the  Scarweather  Sands.  Several  hundred  soldiers  perished  and  their  bodies  were  washed  ashore  at  Sker  beach.  They  were  buried  in  a  mass  grave  in  Caer  Newydd  at  Porthcaw
1798-  The  “Brothers”,  Bristol  from  America,  ran  onto  Tusker  Rock.  Her  crew  of  ten  and  the  cargo  were  saved.
1799 -  On 10th  February HMS Weazle, a sloop of war, (Commander the Hon. Henry Grey) was at Appledore, Devon, waiting to go out anti-privateering along the Cornish coast. Leaving port that evening she cleared Bideford Bar only to hit severe weather conditions in the Bristol Channel. The commander decided to shelter under Baggy Point near Braunton, Devon. The weather worsened and the sloop was driven aground just short of the Point with the loss of all 106 officers and crew. A memorial service was held at Northam Church, Devon.

1802 -  In February the Spanish ship “Nuestra Senora del Carmen”, from Bilbao for Bristol, was lost with all hands on the Scarweather Sands.
1802-  December  5th,  the  “Friendship”,  Bristol  from  Ireland,  ran  onto  the  Nash  Sands.  Five  members  of  the  crew  of  twelve  perished.  The  vessel  and  cargo  were  saved.
1804 – The  “  Two  Sisters”  of   Padstow  wrecked  near  Whitford  Point.
1804 – April  23rd ,  the  sloop  “Unity”,  Portreath  to  Neath  with  copper  ore,  struck  the  Mixon  Shoal  in  a  heavy  gale.  The  Master,  Captain  Walker  and  his  crew  of  two  were  lost.
1804 – November  5th ,  the  brig  “Recovery”  sank  in  a  heavy  gale  at  the  Mumbles.  Her  cargo  of  coal  was  later  recovered  and  the  vessel  refloated  with  the  assistance  of   the  armed  brig  “Endeavour”.
1805-  the  “Christiana”,  Bristol  from  Hamburg,  ran  onto  Nash  Point.  Five  members  of  the  seventeen  man  crew  perished.  The  vessel  and  cargo  were  saved.
1805 – June  22nd ,  the  “Fanny”,  Neath  bound  for  Cork  with  a  cargo  of  culm  became  stranded  on  Skysea.  The  vessel  began  breaking  up  and  the  crew  abandoned  ship  and  rowed  for   Porteynon.
1806-  January  30th ,  the  “Anne  &  Teresa”,  Penclawdd  for  Bristol,  ran  onto  the  Nash  Sands.  The  crew  of  three  were  saved,  as  was  the  cargo.  The  vessel  was  lost.
1806-  On June  4th   the sloop” Hope”   of Bridgwater, was lost with all hands on the Mixon Sands.
1806 -  On 10th  December the “Trelawny”, a Bristol West Indiaman bound for Jamaica, was driven ashore on Nash Point and was smashed to pieces. The captain was killed by the fall of the mainmast, but the mate, pilot and 15 to 20 others escaped in the ship's boats. Eleven other crew and passengers were lost. Part  of  the  cargo  was saved  but  the  vessel  was  a  loss.
1806 –December  25th ,  the  “Novo  Moro”,  Lisbon  for  Amsterdam.  After  a  period  of  prolonged  poor  visibility  the  Master  became  completely  disorientated  and  the vessel  struck  Port  Eynon  Point.  The   Master  and  eighteen  other  crewmen  took  to  the  longboat  but  on  hearing  the  pounding  surf,  ran  before  the  wind  and  sea  and  found  shelter  off  the  Mumbles  a  few  hours  later.  The  “Novo  Moro”  was  a  total  loss  but  most  of  the  cargo  was  saved.
1806 -November  8th.  An  unknown  vessel  ran  onto  the  Nash  Sands  with   the  loss  of  all  hands.
1807-  the  “Diligence”,  Bristol  from  Padstow,  wrecked  at  the  approaches  to  Porthcawl.  Five  members  of  the  seven-man  crew  perished.
1807 – April  11th,  the  Carmarthen  sloop  “Brothers”,  Carmarthen  for  Bristol  was  driven  ashore  near  Burry  Holms.  The  crew  and  passengers  were  saved  “with  great  difficulty”  before  the  vessel  was wrecked.
1808-  April  5th .  The  brig  “  Perseverance”,  Bristol  from  Cork  with  a  cargo  of  whiskey,  ran  ashore  west  of  Sker  Point.The  crew  of  twenty  three  and  the  sixty  passengers  aboard  were  all  saved.  The   vessel  quickly  broke  into  pieces  and  part  of  her  cargo  was  secured  by  a  detachment  of  cavalry  who  had  been  rushed  from  Swansea..  The  remainder   of  the  cargo  had  been  looted  by  locals,  two  of  whom  were  found  dead  at  the  scene,  having  drank  themselves  to  death.
1808-  December  8th.  The  “Richard”,  bound  for  the  Ogmore  river  from  Cardigan,  ran  onto  the  Tusker  Rock.  Four  of  the  seven  man  crew  were  lost.  The  cargo  was  saved  but  the  vessel  was  lost.
1809-  January  30th,  the  “Phoenix”,  Newport  from  Bideford,  ran  onto  Nash  Point.  One  of  the  seven  man  crew  was  lost.  The  cargo  and  the  vessel  were  saved.
1809-  October  1st.  The  “Gatcambe”  outward  bound  from  Swansea  for  Newnham.  Three  of  her  five  man  crew  were  lost  along  with  the  vessel.
1810-  January  30th.  The  “Delight”,  Bridgewater  from  Neath,  ran  onto  the  Scarweather  Sands.  The  four  crew  were  saved  but  the  vessel  and  her  cargo  were  lost.
1810 –February  26th , The  “Friendship”,  Captain  Rees,  with  a  cargo  of  copper  ore  for  Swansea,  struck  the  Mixon  Sands  in  the  early  hours.  The  crew  abandoned  ship  and  made  the  shore  safely.
1810-   August  3rd.  the West Indiaman “Mary”, from Demerara to Bristol, was lost on the Scarweather Sands but all except three of her crew of  ten  were saved.
1810-  In October  the “Union” on a voyage from London to Cadiz was blown off course and wrecked on Cefn Sidan Sands, Carmarthenshire, with the loss of all hands.
1810 -   November  9th,  a  south  westerly  gale  backed  to  the  south  east  and  caught  a  number  of  vessels  sheltering  at  the  Mumbles.  The  “Brittania” , Swansea  for  Waterford  with  coal,  sank   at  its  anchors.  No  lives  were  lost  and  the  cargo  was  saved.  The  vessel  was  salved  and  put  up  for  sale  the  following  April.
1810-  In December  the snow “Teresa”, of Bristol, returning from Trinidad, was wrecked near St.Donats, Glamorgan. All but two of the crew were saved.

1811-  February  11th.  Bristol  from  Bridgewater,  ran  onto  Nash  Point.  Three  of  her  ten  man  crew  were  lost.  The  vessel  and  her  cargo  were  saved.
1811 – April,  the  Swansea  brig  “Nancy”,  Captain  Roberts,  foundered  off  Worms  Head  with  the  loss  of  all  hands.
1812 – the  “Brothers”,  Captain  Dalton,  was  abandoned  in  a  sinking  condition  near  Lundy,  whilst  bound  for  Swansea  with  a  cargo  of  copper  ore  and  timber.  The  crew   took  to  the  boat  and  were  picked  up  by  another  vessel  in   Carmarthen  Bay.  The  “Brothers”  drifted  ashore  west  of  Oxwich  and  was  smashed  to  pieces  but  most  of  the  cargo  was  salvaged.
1813-  On 8th  February  the schooner “Delfin”  bound for Bristol was lost on the Black Rocks near Porthcawl.
1813-  The  “Rosalia”,  Bristol  from  Portugal,  ran  onto  the  Nash  Sands.  Three  of  the  crew  of  twelve  were  lost.  The  cargo  and  vessel  were  saved.
1813 – September  8th,  the  thirty  foot  Ilfracombe  sloop  “Anne  &  Sarah”,  with   coal  for  Llanelli,  sprang  a  leak  while  crossing  Rhossili  Bay.  The  Master,  James  Irwin,  climbed  the  rigging  while  the  two  crew  members  took  to  the  boat,  which  capsized  as  they were  nearing  the  shore.  The  boy  was  drowned  but  the  other  crew  member  grabbed  an  oar  which  kept  him  afloat.  On  reaching  the  shore  he  raised  the  alarm  and  three  local  men,  Moses  Gibbs,  John  Thomas  and  William  Harry  launched  their  boat  and  rescued  the  Master  after  he  had  spent  many  hours  clinging  to  the  mast.
1813-  October,  the  “Friendship”,  Chepstow  from  Ireland,  ran  onto  the  Scarweather  Sands.    The  crew  of  six  were  saved  but  the  vessel  was  a  loss.
1814-  March  1st.  The  “Unity”,  Bristol  from  Cardigan,  ran  onto  Nash  Point.  Four  of  the  seven  crew  perished.  Part  of  the  cargo  was  saved  but  the  vessel  was  lost.
1814- April 5th,  the  “Nautilus”  Bristol  from  Aberavon,  ran  onto  Kenfig  Sands.  Three  of  the  five-man  crew  were  saved.  The  cargo  was saved  but  the  vessel  was  a  loss.
1814-  An  unknown  sloop,  bound  for  Bristol  from  Neath,  ran  ashore  on  Kenfig  Sands.  The  crew  of  five  were  saved  but  the  vessel  and  her  cargo  were  a  loss.
1815-  September  27th,  the  “Jane”,  Cardiff  from  Cork,  ran  onto  Nash  Point.  Three  of  her  crew  and  the  vessel  were  lost.
1817 – August  3rd , the  “Elizabeth”  of  Portsmouth  sailed  from  Swansea  when  contrary  winds  forced  her  back.  She  struck  the  Mixon,  was  refloated,  but  sank  again  before  she  could  be  run  ashore.
1817-  On 28th  October  the” William & Mary”, a Bristol to Waterford sailing packet suddenly struck the rocks known as the Wolves off Flat Holm and sunk within minutes. 54 passengers were lost, including 22 women and children. Only one person survived. 50 bodies were recovered and buried on Flat Holm.
1817 – December  17th.  A  severe  S.W.ly  gale  swept  the  channel. The   following  morning  a  water guard  lookout  reported  a  wreck  ashore  at  Oxwich  Point. This  turned  out  to  be  the  smack  “La  Manche”, of  Morlaix,  a  smuggling vessel  of  about  20  tons.  Armed  water  guard  officers  attended  the  scene,  where  they  dispersed  a  very  intoxicated  crowd  of  locals  who  had  already  got  at  the  cargo  of  brandy  and  gin,  which  was  bootleg  liquor  destined  for  customers  in  Devon. Three  bodies  were  washed  ashore.
1818-  On 30th  December  the “Victory” bound from Newport to Ireland with a cargo of coal was wrecked on the Monkstone.
1819 -  In July the brig “George”, of Ulverston, was wrecked on Scarweather Sands with the loss of eight crew.
1819 – December  19th,  the  Liverpool  brig  “Bounty  Hall” ,  Calcutta  for  Liverpool,  stranded  at  Whitford.  The  vessel  was  later  taken  into  Whitford  Pill  and  then  to  Penclawdd  for  repairs.  The  vessel  was  reloaded  in  February  of  1820  and  proceeded  to  Liverpool.
1820 – January  21st,  two  small  craft  came  to  grief  in  Rhosilli  Bay.  In  the  morning  the  “John”  of  Padstow  foundered  and  the  crew  of  three,  including  a  boy  were  lost.  A  few  hours  later  the  “George”  bound  for  Llanelli,  with  copper  ore  was  wrecked  near  the  Worm.  Two  crew  members  leapt  ashore  as  she  struck  the  rocks  and  the  Master  and  a  seaman   took  to  the  rigging  and  were  rescued  some  hours  later  with  the  aid  of  the  rocket  throwing  apparatus.
1820 – August  2nd,  a  Lynmouth  smack  capsized  with  the  loss  of  three  of  the  four-crew  members  while  dredging  for  oysters  off  Porteynon.
1820 – September,  the  Cardigan   sloop,  the  “Diligence”  bound  for  Bristol  with  a  cargo  of  oats  was  wrecked  near  the  Worm.  The  crew  survived.
1821-  On 21st  November  the Cardiff brig “Marianne,” bound for London, was driven ashore on Nash Sands. She quickly sank but the Revenue Cruiser Harpy rescued the crew.
1821-  On 21st  December  the Bideford brig “ Hebe” on passage from Waterford to Bristol with eight crew and three passengers was partly wrecked off Porthcawl and then finally wrecked at Dunraven near St.Brides Major.  According to the contemporary account by Colonel Knight of Tythegston there were no boats suitable to put to sea in the severe conditions and the gale was such that not even the local rocket apparatus could be used. When the brig was finally wrecked some local people were not averse to stripping her cargo, although the Revd. Morgan of St.Brides Major and others tried to stop the looting. The body of the captain of the brig, Captain Thomas Carder, was found next day stripped by looters. He was buried at Wick church.
1822 – February,  the  sloop  “Sally  &  William”  was  driven  ashore  in  Oxwich  Bay  during  a  violent  gale.
1823 -   May  16th, the  Chichester  sloop  “Appledram”  bound  for  Swansea  in  ballast  ran  aground  east  of  Worms  Head.  The  vessel  was  repaired  and  successfully  refloated  on  the  6th  of   June.
1823 – June  27th ,  the  Swansea  pilot  cutter  “Angally”  was  run  down  while  running  alongside  a  vessel  three  miles  southwest  of  the  Mumbles.  The  pilot  managed  to  jump  aboard  the  vessel  and  his  two  assistants  were  picked  up  after  spending  hours  in  the  water.
1823 – October  30th,  the  Whitehaven  brig  “Hero”  was  driven  from  her  anchors  in  a  northeasterly  gale.  The  vessel  sank  near  Mumbles  lighthouse.  The  vessel  was  successfully  raised  a  few  days  later.
1824 – November  22nd.  More  than  one  hundred  vessels  were  sheltering  in  Swansea  Bay  during  a  south westerly  gale, when  the  wind  backed  to  the  south  east  and  increased  to  hurricane  force Many  vessels  parted  their  anchor  cables  and  fourteen  were  driven  ashore  with  the  loss  of  masts,  yards  and  bowsprits.  All  except  two  were  refloated.
1824 -   In December  the Portuguese schooner “Sandica Connica” bound for Bristol from  Terceira  was wrecked on Sker Point, near Porthcawl. Fortunately the crew were saved.
1825 – January,  The  Newport  (Pembs.)  sloop,  the  “Menai”   was  lost  off  Rhosilli  with  all  hands.
1825 – November  8th,  the  Swansea  pilot  cutter  “Friends”  was  swamped  after  returning  to  Swansea  after  landing  a  pilot.  A  southwesterly  gale  was  blowing  at  the  time.  The  assistant  and  two  boys  were  lost.The  following  day  the  gale  veered  to  the  north  and  increased  and  ten  vessels  were  driven  ashore  at  the  Mumbles.
1826 – April  10th,  the  brig  “Union”,  a  new  vessel  of  300t  was  proceeding  down  channel  when  the  wind  swung  to  the  west.  The  vessel  failed  to  sight  the  Mumbles  light  and  struck  the  Mixon  shoal.  The  vessel  filled  at  once  and  the  crew  sought  refuge  on  other  vessels  anchored  in  the  roads.
1827 – March  27th,  the  “Three  Brothers”  a  Barnstable  sloop,  Hayle  for  Swansea  with  copper  ore,  ran  aground  near  Oxwich  Point. The  crew  managed  to  get  ashore.  The  vessel  was  a  complete  loss  but  most  of  the  cargo  was saved.
1827 – May 4th,  the  Newross  sloop  “Agnes”  bound  for  Swansea  with  a cargo  of  sheep,  ran  aground  at  Llanmadoc.  The  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  with  the  help  of  some  locals  but  all  but  six  of  the  one  hundred  and  five  sheep  aboard  were  lost.
1828 -  February  14th.  During  a  particularly  violent   southeasterly  gale,  the  brigantine  “George”  was  bound  for  her  homeport  of  Bideford  from  Bristol  when  the  Master  decided  to  head  for   Swansea.  A  shore  light  was  mistaken  for  the  harbour  entrance  and  the  vessel  struck  the  beach  and  rapidly  filled.  The  crew  took  to  the  rigging  and  were  there  for  more  than  two  hours  before  being  rescued  from  the  shore.
1828 – August  9th. The  sloop  “Speculator”  capsized  and  sank  of  the  Mumbles  during  a  gale.  The  crew  were  rescued  by  the  200t  steam  packet  “Palmerston”   which  ran  the  regular  Bristol  to  Swansea  service.
The   same  day  the  sloop  “Seaflower”  was  anchored  at  Rhosilli  sheltering  from  the  gale  when  her  cables  parted.  The  crew  managed  to  get   ashore  when   the  vessel  struck  the  beach  but  the  sloop  was  smashed  to  pieces.
1828 – August  12th. The  “William  and  Mary”  of  Plymouth,  bound  for  Neath  with  a  cargo  of  copper  ore,  foundered  in  Oxwich  Bay.  The  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  safely.

1828 – October  10th.  A  brig  was  sighted  in  a  sinking  condition  off  Burry  Holms.  The  vessel  sank  before  any  assistance  could  reach  her.  She  was  later  identified  by  one  of   her  boats  that  came  ashore  at  Rhosilli  as  the  “Juno”  of  St.  Ives.  The  crew  of  two  perished  and  their  bodies  were  buried  in  Llangennith  churchyard.
1828-  On 21st  November  a French ship, “ La Jeune Emma” (Captain de Chatellan) was on a voyage from Martinique in the West Indies to Le Havre, when, in a dense fog, he mistook Land's End for Cape Finisterre and the Lundy Island Light for Ushant Light. As a result he headed northward thinking he was heading for the Lizard, when he grounded on Cefn Sidan Sands, Carmarthenshire. Thirteen crew and passengers were washed overboard and drowned, including Colonel Coquelin of the French Marine and his daughter who was niece to the Empress Josephine of France. Nine of those who died were buried in Pembrey Churchyard, including Coquelin and his daughter. The day after the wreck looters stole not only the ship's cargo of rum, sugar, spices, coffee, cotton and ginger, but also the personal possessions of the crew and passengers.
1829 – October  16th.  The “Lively”  of  Sunderland,  with  a  cargo  of  iron  from  Cardiff,  sank  on  the  Mixon  shoal.  The  Master,  mate  and  the  boy  were  all  swept  to  their  deaths.  Three  survivors  spent  many  hours  clinging  to  the  rigging  before  being  picked  up  by  the  pilot  cutter  “Sarah”.
1829 – The  brigantine  “Idas”,  of  Whitby,  with  a  cargo  of  timber  from  Miramichi,  New  Brunswick,,  for  Gloucester,  ran  ashore  at  Langland  during  thick  fog
1830 – March.  The  paddle  steamer  “Frolic”  left  Tenby  for  Bristol  and  was  never  seen  again.  Wreckage  and  bodies  of  passengers  were  washed  ashore  on  the  Glamorgan  coast.  There  was  no  passenger  list  but  it  is  thought  that  close  on  eighty  people  perished.
1830 – June  23rd. the  “Irish  Miners”  of  Cardigan,  Swansea  to  Llanelli  with  copper  ore,  struck  Dangers  Reef,  east  of  Worms  Head  and  was  wrecked.  The  crew  were  saved  by  the  local  coastguard.
1830 –October  29th.  The  Nova  Scotian  brig  “Henry”,  Quebec  for  Penclawdd  with  timber,  stranded  off  Whitford.  The  vessel  was  badly  damaged  but  her  cargo  kept  her  afloat  allowing  her  crew  and  passengers  to  get  ashore.  The  passengers  were  the  crew  of  the  “Hibbert”,  a  London  vessel,  whish  the  “Henry  had  found  waterlogged  and  on  her  beam  ends  in  the  Atlantic.
1830-  In December  the Falmouth brig “Larch” was wrecked on the Cefn-y-Wrach bar between the rivers Ely and Taff.
1831 -  On the night of 16th  March the “Frolic”, a schooner-rigged paddle steamer owned by the Bristol General Navigation Co., on the last part of a regular journey from Haverfordwest to Bristol, struck the Nash Sands, Glamorgan, with the loss of all 80 passengers and crew, which included General MacLeod and several other army officers as well as several Pembrokeshire merchants.It was as a result of the outcry following this disaster that Trinity House provided two lighthouses in 1832 to mark the safe channel between the sands and the mainland.
1832-     Two  lighthouses  built  at  Nash  Point.
1832 – The  sloop  “Ilfracombe  Packet”  grounded  while  entering  the  port  of  Swansea  during  a  storm.  Five  pilots  went  out to  the  vessel  with  a  spare  anchor  and  cable  and  managed  to  kedge  her  off  and   warped  the  vessel  into  the  port.
1833 – Wednesday,  February  20th.  Hurricane  force  north-westerly  winds  made  many  vessels  that  had  left  Swansea  the  previous  day  return  to  seek  shelter  in  the  bay.  The  Clovelly  smack,  the  “Surprise”  with  a  cargo  of  culm  for  Bude,  reached  the  bay  leaking  badly  and  sank  before   she  could  be  run  ashore.  Her  crew  abandoned  ship  and  were  picked  up  by  another  vessel.  The  Padstow  schooner  “Frances  Anne”,  bound  for  St.  Ives  with  a  cargo  of  coal  foundered  near  the  Green   Grounds  with  her  crew  of  six  and  four  passengers.  During  the  same  storm  a  schooner  was  seen  to  founder  on   the  Helwick  shoal.  Her  masts  were  washed  ashore  at  Oxwich  but  she  was  never  identified.  A  double  tragedy  took  place  at  Port  Eynon  when  the  Cambletown  schooner  “Favourite”  and  the  sloop  “Mary”  of  Laugharne  were  driven  ashore  and  both  were  lost  with  all  hands
1833-  In October  the brig “Ann and Margaret” was wrecked at Aberavon near Port Talbot. Captain John Bevan of the Copper Company schooner Gower and four of his men went to the rescue, partly using a small boat which they dragged to the area, and partly by swimming or wading out to the wreck with a line. They managed to save all six crew. Captain Bevan received the Silver Medal and his men got cash rewards.
1833 – November  28th.  The  Maryport  brig  “Amethyst”,  Quebec  for  Liverpool,  had  lost  her  rudder  in  an  Atlantic  storm  and  was  driven  up  channel  and  stranded  on  Swansea  beach.  The crew  of  the   pilot  boat  “William  IV”saved  the  Master  and  his  crew  of  ten.  The  pilot,  John  Mitchell  and  his  crew  of  three  were  awarded  £5  by  the  National  Institution  for  the  Preservation  of  Life,  to  be  divided  between  them.  The  vessel  was  refloated  near  the  West   Pier  and  the  cargo  was  later  discharged.
1833 – December  18th.  The  London  brig  “Siren”  sailed  from  Swansea  with  a  cargo  of  coal  for  the  Admiralty  coaling  station  in  Malta.  Off  Worms  Head  she  ran  into  a  gale  and  became  unmanageable  and  ended  up  being  driven  ashore  near  Burry  Holms.  The  crew  succeeded  in  getting  ashore  in  the  boat  but  the  vessel  was  smashed  to  bits.  The  severity  of  the  weather  resulted  in  parts  of  the  vessel  being  found  in  Loughor  a  few  hours  later.
1834 -  On 1st  November the Maltese barque” Margaret” sailed from Swansea with coal destined for Alexandria. On her sixth day out a violent change in the wind caused considerable damage to her hull, and she lost her fore and main yards and main topsail. The master decided to try to make Milford Haven but a thick mist caused him to change his mind and head for Mumbles Roads off Swansea. The barque made it to a point just off the Mumbles lighthouse where she anchored in the dark of night, with her crew continuously manning the pumps. When the tide fell, however, the barque struck the Mixon Sands. Fortunately she was able to get off into deeper water but was in such a damaged condition that the master decided to take four men in the ship's boat and head for Swansea to find help. This they did and twenty men set out in two steam tugs. The extra men were able to relieve the crew. Manning the pumps, raise the anchor and safely beach the barque on Mumbles Flats where she was unloaded and patched up.
1834 -  On  17th  November the Wexford schooner” Mary Ann”, from Cardiff for Wexford with coal, struck the Mixon Sands where she was lost, the crew and passengers being saved by the Coastguards.
1835 – October  22nd,   the  brig  “New  Blessing”,  Cardiff  for  Waterford,  collided  with  the  Cardigan  ketch  “Heart  of  Oak”,  which  was  lying  to  and  showing  no  lights  halfway  between  Lundy  Island  and  Worms  Head.  The  brig  lost  her  foremast  and  bowsprit  and  drifted  near  to  the  Helwick  where  she  then  anchored.  The  vessel  was  found  to  be  leaking  badly  and  the  crew  abandoned  ship   before  she  went  down.
1835-  On 26th  October  the sloop “John”, of Chepstow, from Swansea, sank at the mouth of the River Neath. One of the crew tried to swim ashore but was drowned, whilst the other two clung to the mast. William Evans, a pilot, told the Revd. Edward Thomas of Briton Ferry that it was "a shame to see our fellow creatures perish before our eyes" and, against advice from other pilots,took his small boat, William, with a crew of four, out to the wreck and saved the two remaining crew members. He was awarded the Silver Medal and he and his crew received monetary awards from the RNLI, The Swansea Harbour Trust and the River Neath Trustees
1836 – October  12th.  A  storm  of  great  ferocity  blew  over  the  channel  and  the  brig  “Corbero”,  bound  for  Cuba  with  coal,  lost  her  foremast  when  she  was  run  foul  of  by    a  schooner  drifting  through  the  anchorage  at  the  Mumbles.  The  same  evening  the  schooner  “Success”  of  Fowey  had  difficulty  in  weighing  her  anchor.  The  mate  and  two  crew  members  launched  the  boat  to  assist  but  the  boat  quickly  capsized  drowning  them. The  three  crew  members  bodies  were later  recovered  and  buried  in  Oystermouth  churchyard.
1836 – December  7th. The  “Petersburgh”, of  Milford,  Quebec  for  Llanelli  with  timber  was  anchored of  Burry  Bar  awaiting  the  flood  tide  when  the  westerly  freshened.  The  vessel  parted  her  chains  and  was  driven  onto  the  Lynch  sandbank.  The  crew  abandoned  and  made  the  shore  safely.  The  cargo  remained  intact  and  she  was  successfully  refloated  on  the  23rd  December.
1837 -   July  28th.  During  a  heavy  gale  the  “Britannia”  of  Bideford  hit  rocks  off  Pwll  Du  Point.  The  crew  managed to  scramble  ashore  but  the  vessel  was  wrecked.
1837 – December  20th.  The  St.  Ives  schooner  “Diligence”,  bound  from  Hayle  to  Swansea  with  copper  ore  ran  onto  the  Lynch  sandbank.  The  crew  were  all  save  and  the  weather  moderated  long  enough  for  the  cargo  to  remain  intact   and  for  the  vessel  to  be  refloated.
1838 – January  30th.  The  Montrose  brig  “Hero”,  Chile  for  Swansea  with  copper  ore  and  Nicaragua  timber,  ran  aground  at  Port  Eynon  in  poor  visibility.  The  crew  got  ashore  safely  but  the  vessel  broke  up  with  the  incoming  tide.
1838 – March  24th.  A  sloop  was  observed  in  Rhosilli  Bay  almost  on  her  beam  ends,  her  cargo  having  shifted  in  a  heavy  south-westerly  swell. People  watching  from  ashore  saw  the  sails  being  taking  in  and the  vessel  was  brought  up  on  the  anchor  as  she  righted.  The  crew  were  then  seen  to  leave  in  the  ships  boat  but  as  they  were  nearing  the  shore  the  boat  capsized  a  quarter  of  a  mile  from  the  shore,  drowning  all  three  of  them.  The  boat  was  washed  ashore  on  the  flood  tide  and  the  vessel  was  identified  as  the  sloop  “Eliza  Jane”  of  Dunvargen.  The  63 t  Bideford  sloop  “Jeremiah”  was  wrecked  near  Worms  Head  the  same  day  but  the  crew  managed  to  scramble  ashore  safely.
1838-  In September  the sloop “Feronia”, of St.Ives, Cornwall, was wrecked in Swansea Bay. The crew of three were saved by pilot John Reece who was awarded the Silver Medal.
1838 – November  27th.   The  “Sisters”,  of  St.  Ives  was  Swansea  bound  when  a  south-westerly  gale  drove  her  ashore  at  Rhosilli.  The  crew  reached  the  shore  safely  but  the  vessel  was  wrecked.
1839-  On 7th  January  the London brig, “Thomas Piele”, bound from Swansea to Dublin with coal,  stranded in the shallows some way out from the shore.  One of her crew who was an excellent swimmer reached the shore and said that the brig was fast breaking up. Captain Thomas Jones of the ship “Two Sisters” which was in port at Aberavon, along with Captain John Howell, Captain Charles Sutton and pilot Lewis Jenkins took the boat of the Two Sisters and rowed out through heavy seas to the wreck. Several times the onlookers on the beach thought the little boat had herself been lost and just when she reached the wreck a sudden breaker washed all four men temporarily overboard, broke most of the oars, and then washed the small craft back to the beach. Captain Jones changed his clothing, had a short rest, and then, again with the help of pilot Jenkins, plus Arthur Rees, mate of the Galatea, and Thomas Lewis, a seaman, rowed out again. For  second time, however, the sea washed all four overboard, and clinging to the boat and the oars they were sent back onto the beach badly bruised. Captain Joseph Foley of the schooner Richard, of Swansea, then took charge of the boat. Joined yet again by pilot Lewis Jenkins, and three others. This time they were successful and managed to take off the master and four crew of the sinking ship, but three other crew members had been lost already, washed from their hold on the mast. The Silver Medal was awarded to Captains Jones, Howell, Sutton and Foley, and to Pilot Lewis Jenkins and Arthur Rees. Other rescuers received awards of cash.
1839 -  On 6th February the French brig “Charles”, bound from New Brunswick to Gloucester, struck the Scarweather Sands  off Porthcawl in dense fog. The customs boat and a pilot cutter went to help but the customs boat was driven back. However, the pilot eventually saved the whole of the crew of nine.
1839 – February.  The  sloop  “Grace”  of  Chester,  Bridgewater  for  Liverpool  with  a  cargo  of  timber,  became  swamped  by  very  heavy  seas  and  forced  ashore  at  Rhosilli.  She  was  quickly  wrecked  on  this  most  exposed  beach  and  what  was   left  was  later  sold  by  auction.
1839- On 22nd June  the French lugger “ Les Enfants Cheris” on passage from Nantes to Bristol was wrecked on Nash Sands. The crew of  six  were saved by Rees Lougher of Monknash, Glamorgan. He was awarded the RNLI silver medal for bravery.
1840 – January  21st.  During  a  severe  north-westerly  gale,  an  observer  saw  a  vessel  sailing  close  inshore  near  Burry  Holms  when  she  struck  the  beach.  The  vessel  was  later  identified  as  the  Dartmouth  schooner  “Dolphin”  which  then  drifted  onto  some  rocks  and  quickly  broke  up.  The  crew  of  five  were  lost. This  same  gale  also  claimed  the  lives  of  the  crew  of  the  Liverpool  schooner  “Shepherd”  which  was  wrecked  off  Worms Head.  During  the  same  gale  the  barque  “Suir”  of  Waterford  was  driven  ashore  at  Llanmadoc.  The  crew  had  cut  away  the  mainmast  which  resulted  in  the  crew  and  the  vessel  being  saved.
1840 -  On 4th  November the schooner “ Yanden”, of Newport, struck the brig “Hopewell”, of Cork, bows on in a hurricane. The Hopewell quickly sunk. Two seamen and four passengers escaped by climbing into the Yanden. The captain's son, two seamen and two passengers were drowned, but the captain, although he did not leave his ship until the last moment, was saved after clinging to a piece of wreckage for over two hours.
1840 -  On 17th  November  the steam packet “ City of Bristol”,  Waterford  for  Bristol,  was driven off course by a severe storm in Rhossili Bay. Only two of the 17 crew and 10 passengers survived.
1841 -   In January pilot Bidder and his crew saved the three crew of the schooner “Fanny”, of Bideford, which was wrecked on Mixon Sands.
1842 – In   January  the  Wexford  smack  “Dart”  parted  her  cables  during  a  westerly  gale  while  anchored  off  Mumbles.  She  sank  with  the loss  of  all  hands  after  being  driven  over  the  Greengrounds.
1842 -   March  17th.   The  smack  “Gurnet”,  while  trying  to  enter  the  port  of  Swansea  during  unpleasant  conditions,  was  driven  ashore  near  the  piers.  The  crew  of  two  were  drowned  when  the  vessel  capsized.
1842 – May  19th.  The  smack  “Industry”,  Limpert  Bay  nr.  Aberthaw  for  Aberavon,  was  found  to  be  taking  in  water.  She  went  down  two  miles  south-east  of  the  Mumbles.  A  passing  vessel  picked  up  the  Master  but  the  other  crew  member  was  lost.
1843 - On 10th  January  “The Brothers” of St.Ives, Cornwall, was returning home from Cardiff with coal when she disappeared off Hartland Point, Devon in a severe storm. There were no survivors.
1843  - On 13th  January the “John Lilley” of Liverpool (barque) (Captain Townes) was on her way from Liverpool to Old Calabar, West Africa, when she was blown off course across the entrance to the Bristol Channel and onto the Welsh coast, and then back across the Channel onto the North Devon coast a few miles north-east of Bideford Bar, where she was seen by Captain Williams on the brig The Shepherdess of Appledore. Captain Williams took his boat alongside the John Lilley despite the severe conditions but was unable to transfer the crew of the latter ship partly because of the weather conditions and partly because many of the crew of the John Lilley were drunk (perhaps not surprising as the ship's cargo was rum and the crew must have thought they were not going to survive !). A couple of hours later the ship was driven onto Saunton Sands, near Braunton Lighthouse, Devon. The Master and crew were saved by the lighthouse keeper, the appropriately named Mr Lamping, the Appledore Customs Officer, Mr John Bowden and another local man. When the John Lilley went aground her cargo consisting partly of rum and tobacco went overboard and ended up on the beach. The Customs Officers, Excise Officers and Coastguards were fully employed in trying to prevent the local population from making off with the cargo . Not very successfully it would  appear as the Customs Collector at Barnstaple had to admit that much of the cargo had disappeared and despite searches in the surrounding area little had been found.
1843 -  January  13th.  The  Aberthaw  smack  “Ann  &  Elizabeth”,  Bridgewater  for  Milford  stranded  of  the  Lynch  Bank.  The  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  and  the  vessel  was  later  salvaged.
1843 – April  22nd.  The  oyster  skiff  “Sarah  &  Rachel”  sank  near  the   Mixon  Pool  and  both  crew  members  were  lost.
1843 – 7th  September  - “Caledonia” - 200 ton brig from Arbroath, Scotland  (Captain Peter) - On journey from Constantinople to Bristol - driven onto the rocks at Vicarage Cliffs, Morwenstow, Devon. The crew were washed overboard and only one, Edward La Daine from the Channel Islands, survived. He was taken to the Rectory where the Rev R.S.Hawker made sure that he was cared for and nursed back to health. The bodies of the drowned seamen were eventually washed up on the beach and buried in Morwenstow Churchyard. The figurehead of the brig is preserved in the churchyard and, remarkably, a message in a bottle from one of the seamen, thrown overboard before the final wreck of the brig, was washed up at Portledge where it, too,  is preserved in the Portledge Hotel just outside Bideford. The Rev Hawker erected a little hut on the cliffs immediately above the place where the wreck occurred and this is maintained by the National Trust.
1843 –  October  6th. The  brig  “Liverpool  Packet”,  Newport  for  Penzance  with  coal,  lost  her  rudder.  The  crew  abandoned  ship  near  Flatholm  and  the  vessel  was  eventually  wrecked  in  Rhosilli  Bay
1844 – March  17th.  During  a  south-easterly  gale    a  number  of  oyster  skiffs  were    sunk  when  the  “Superior”  of  St.  Ives  parted  her  cable  and  drove  through  the  anchorage  at  Mumbles.  The  “Charles”  of  Llanelli  and  the  “Rebecca”  of  Bridgewater  ended  up  rolling  their   bilges  out  on  the  stony  shore  but  the  barque  “Underley”  bound  for  Cuba,  slipped  his  cable  and  proceeded  to  sea  with  his  pilot.
1844 – August  2nd.  A  summer  gale  struck  the  Gower  peninsular,  starting  from  the  southwest  but  ending  up  right  around  the  compass.  The  schooner  “Margaret”,  on  passage  from  Rotterdam  to  Bristol  with  a  Rhossili  Master  aboard,  was  driven  ashore  in  Broughton  Bay  and  ended  up  being  smashed  to  pieces.  The  crew  were  saved.
During  the  same  gale  the  Bridgewater  schooner  “Mary”  was  lost  near  the  previous  location  with  a  woman  passenger  drowning.  The  Llanelli  schooner  “Thetis”  sank  at  anchor  in  Oxwich  Bay.  The  crew  took  to  the  rigging  but  were  later  rescued  by  a  boat  from  “Affo”,  of  Bideford,  which  was  also  at  anchor  having  lost  her  canvas.  The  crew  of  four  were  taken  back  to  the  “Affo”.
The  Plymouth  smack  “Triton”,  Par  for  Swansea  with  copper  ore,  was  driven  ashore  at  Port  Eynon  Point.  Five  crewmembers  were  washed  overboard    and  perished.   The  Master,  Captain  Wilcock,  climbed  along  the  bowsprit,  whish  was  resting  on  a  rock but  was  washed  off  and  swept  into  the  turbulent  seas.  Fortunately,  the  next  wave  washed  him  up  onto  a  sandy  beach  and  he  lived  to  tell  the  tale.
The  Chepstow  sloop  “Julia”,  Bridgewater  for  Dublin,  went  ashore  at  Worms  Head  with  the  loss  of  one  crew  member.
Another  vessel,  the  “Anne”  sank  while  anchored  off  the  Mumbles  and  numerous  other  vessels  were  damaged.
In  the  three  weeks  following  this  gale  nine  bodies  were  recovered  and  buried  at  Rhossili.
1844 – October  10th.  During  another  gale  the  barque  “Jane  Boyd”  of  Aberdeen,  parted  her  cables  off  the  Mumbles  and  collided  with  the  “Frances”,  Valparaiso  for   Swansea  with  copper  ore.  The  “Frances”  was  holed  and  sank  off  West  Cross.  The  twenty  crewmembers  were  landed  at  Singleton  by  the  vessels  longboat.  The  vessel  was  raised  on  Christmas  Eve  and  successfully  berthed  in  the  harbour.
1845 – April  16th.  The  Bridgewater  sloop  “Spreacombe”  dragged  its  anchor  in  thick  fog  and  ended  up  being  driven  onto  rocks  at  Whiteshell  Point,  east  of  Caswell.  The  Master  and  four  hands  spent  five  hours  clinging  to  the  rigging  and  were  rescued  by  three  local  brothers  just  before  the  mast  came  down.
1845 – the  “Olive  Branch”  ran  onto  Sker  Point.  Three  of  her  nine  man  crew  perished.  The  vessel  was  lost.
1846 - On 15th  October  the barque “Bradshaw” of Liverpool on passage from America to Liverpool was blown off course and into the Bristol Channel where she became a total wreck near Porthcawl.

1847 - On 14th  February  the French brig” Emilie” was wrecked on Nash Point and the crew of eight lost.
1847 – February  21st.  Wreckage  appeared  along  the  coast  from  Worms  Head  to  the  Mumbles,  including  large  quantities  of  wool.  Some  ships  papers  were  later  washed  ashore  and  the  vessel  was  identified  as  the  barque  “Brechin  Castle”,  Port  Adelaide  for  Swansea  with  copper  ore  and  wool.  In  the  following  days  the  body  of  a  seaman  was  washed  ashore  followed  by  the  body  of  a  child.On  the  22nd.  Almost  half  the  hull  of  the  barque  was  found  floating  near  the  Mixon  Shoal  and  after  an  unsuccessful  attempt by  local  pilots  to  tow  the  vessel,  she  broke  free  and  was  washed  up  at  Limeslade.  The  remaining  portion  of  the  hull  was  found  at  Oxwich.  The  vessel  had  carried  a crew  of  fifteen  and  two  families.  All  were  lost.  It  was  thought  that  the  recent  positioning  of  the  Helwick  Light,  which  became  operational  on  October  1st  1846,  was  a  contributory  factor  in  the  loss  of  the  “Brechin  Castle”,  as  the  Master  would  have  been  unaware  of  its  existence  and  mistook it  for  the  Mumbles  light.
1847 - In November  the barque “ Henry” of Liverpool bound for Cardiff hit the Tusker Reef  near  Porthcawl and was breaking up when the Barnstaple smack “William and Jane” sighted her and was able to save 18 of her crew. Only one, an apprentice, was lost.
1847 - In November  the “ Leith Packet”  from Newport for Stirling in Scotland was lost on the Tusker Reef but all hands were saved by a passing vessel.
1847 - On December 6th   the brig  “Circassian”, of Sunderland,  Cuba  for  Swansea  with  copper  ore,  parted  her  anchor  cables  in  a  fierce  westerly  gale.  She  drifted  into  the  bay  and  was  washed  ashore  near  the  East  Pier.  A  rescue  attempt  was  impossible  in  the  prevailing  conditions  and  nothing  could  be  done  until  five  o’clock  the  next  morning,  when  a  tug  managed  to  get  alongside  and  rescue  some  of  the  crew.  Later  that  day  two  men  returned  to   vessel  in  a  small  boat  and  took  of  the  Master,  Mate  and  two  seamen.  The  boat  failed  to  return  to  the  tug  and  it  was  thought  they  were  lost.  At  dawn  the  next  day  the  boat  was  observed  drifting  out  of  the  bay  and  were  subsequently  saved  by  John  George, a  local  pilot.
1848 – March  6th. With  a  large  swell  running  over  the  Mixon  Shoal,  the  brigantine  “Earl  Gowrie”,  bound  for  her  home  port  of  Waterford  with  a  cargo  of  coal,  was  lost  with  all  hands.
1848 – October  26th.  The  Aberystwyth  smack  “Eagle”,  Porthcawl  for  her  home  port,  was  lost  on  the  Cherrystone.  Her  crew  managed  to  row  ashore.
1848 - On 27th  November  the Sunderland barque “Arietta”  was wrecked on the Mixon Sands. The 2nd mate was washed overboard and drowned but the other 14 crew got away in the ship's boat and were picked up by the paddle  tug “Dragon Fly”.
1849 – January  16th.   The  Swansea  barque  “Pascoe  Grenfell”  and  the  schooner  “Victoria”  of  Looe  were  both  outward  bound  from  Swansea  when  they  collided  off  Port  Eynon.  The  “Victoria”  sank  and  her  crew  were  picked  up  by  a  passing  vessel  and  landed  at  Swansea.  The   “Pascoe  Grenfell”  lost  her  jib  boom  but  was  able  to  continue  on  passage.
1849 – December  14th.   The  brig  “Mary  Jones”  of  Pictou,  Nova  Scotia,  bound  from  Pugwash  to  Liverpool  with  a cargo  of  timber,  lost  its  bearings  during  heavy  rain.  At  seven  p.m.  the  crew  realised  they  were  close  in  shore  and  attempted  to  wear  ship.  This  failed  and  the  vessel  was  wrecked  between  Port  Eynon  and  Paviland.  The  crew  took  to  the  rigging  and  remained  there  until  the  mast  came  crashing  down.  Most  of  the  crew  were  able  to  swim  ashore  and  seek    shelter  on  the  rocks.  One  seaman  was  lost.
1850 – February  5th. The  “Mary”  of  Bideford,  carrying  a  cargo  of  iron,  parted  he  anchor  cables  in  a  severe  storm  and  sank  on  the  Greengrounds.  This  was  the  third  time  the  vessels  Master  had  been  involved  in  a  shipwreck  in  nine  years.
1850 – June  21st.  The  Port  Talbot  pilot  boat  “Mary”  was  wrecked  on  the  west  side  of  Mumbles  Head,  directly  below  the  lighthouse.  The  pilot  John  Mathews  and  his  crew  clung  to  the  rocks  until  low  water.
1850 – August  7th.   At  seven  o’clock  in  the  evening  the  Mumbles  coastguard  saw  a  small  vessel  founder  on  the  Mixon  Shoal.  The  vessel  was  identified  the  following  day  as  the  Port  Eynon  owned  “Hope”,  with  a  cargo  of  oats  from  Waterford.  The  crew  of  three  were  lost.
1850 – December.  In  the  first  week   of  this  month  the  hull  and  rigging  of  a  schooner  were  washed  up  at  Port  Eynon.  The  wreckage  was  later  identified  as  belonging  to  the  “Courageux”  of  Nantes,  which  is  thought  to  have  been  inward  bound  in  ballast.  The  vessel  and  its  crew  are  thought  to  have  been  victims  of  a  violent  storm , which  hit  the  Bristol  Channel  on  November  24th.
1851 – July,  the  Plymouth  registered  brigantine  schooner  “Joseph  Anderson”,  Newport  for  Bristol  with  coal,  went  down  on  the  Culver  Sands,  about   six  or  seven  miles  south  of  Steep  Holm.  The  Captain,  Mate  and  three  of  the  crew  perished  and  two  others  were  saved.
1851  - On 9th  November the French barque “ Pollux” , 4000 tons (Captain Lindstrom), left Dublin for Alexandria but in the Irish Sea found herself in a very severe storm, the ballast shifted, and she heeled over to such an extent that the masts were close to horizontal, preventing her from getting upright. The master decided to cut away the main and mizzen masts in an effort to right her and this it did, but the vessel was now drifting out of control in the storm and was driven into the entrance to the Bristol Channel. She was sighted by two pilot cutters off the North Devon coast. The cutters pulled alongside and offered to tow the ship into Ilfracombe, at which the crew of the “Pollux”  decided to abandon ship . The cutters managed to get her into Clovelly Roads and next morning the crew, excluding the captain, returned to the ship. The captain excused himself saying that he had pressing business elsewhere ! The pilots, with help from local fishermen, tried to get the ship to Bideford but the ship's crew were not prepared to co-operate and the job was left entirely to the "rescuers". She grounded twice during these efforts and the Lloyds Agent now ordered a tug. However, for some unknown reason the Finnish crew cut the tow rope leaving the ship again drifting, finally grounding again on the beach at Clovelly. The Customs Officer declared that she could not be considered a wreck, and all the cargo was removed and placed in his custody. On the next tide the ship was refloated and towed off shore, anchored and left over night. The next morning, now without her ballast and cargo she was so light that the storm caused her anchor cables to break and she finally smashed to pieces on the shore.
1851 – December  25th.  The  skiff  “Springflower”  was  overwhelmed  in  a  sudden  westerly  gale  after   hauling  oysters  on  the  eastern  end  of  the  Helwick  Bank.

1852 – December  6th.   The  “Pretty  Maggy”  of  Cork,  Ballinacura  for  Cardiff  in  ballast,  was  wrecked  on  the  Mixon  Shoal.  The  crew  of  five  and  a  passenger  were  lost.  The  wrckage  was  later  washed  up  in  Bracelet  Bay.

1853 -   The  Milford  smack  “Ellen”,  bound  for  Bristol  with  a  cargo  of  butter  and  oats,  was  found  to  be  making  water  as  she  crossed  Port  Eynon  Bay.  The  vessel  went  down  off   Oxwich  Point  with  the  loss  of  the  Master  and  the  third  hand.
1853 – July  6th.   The  Brazilian  brig  “Nettuno”,  having  left  Swansea  bound  for  the  Cape  Verde  Islands  with  a   cargo  of  coal  struck   the  Greengrounds.  The  vessel  started  making  water  and  foundered  south-east  of  Mumbles  lighthouse.
1853 – July  20th.  The  pilot  vessel  “Sarah  Jane”  was  wrecked  near  Pwll  Du.  Her  crew  scrambled  ashore  safely
 1854 – June.  The  Bayonne  brig  “Irma”  was  driven  ashore  near  Worms  Head  and  wrecked.
1855 –March 10th. The  barque  “Henrietta!,  bound  for  Swansea  from  Cuba  with  a  cargo  of  copper  ore,  became  stranded  on  the  Mixon.  The  crew  successfully  abandoned  ship  and  the  following  day  the  vessel  was  refloated  and  towed  into  port.  Safely.
1855 – October  25th.   The  brig  “Anna  Catherine”  of  Sunderland,  which  was  bound  from  Swansea  to  London  with  a  cargo  of  coal,  was  sheltering  at  the  Mumbles  in  a  west-south-westerly  gale.  The  gale  increased  to  hurricane  force  and  at  10  o’clock  in  the  evening  the  vessel  parted  her  cables  and  drifted  onto  the  Greengrounds  where she  unshipped  the  rudder  and  severely  damaged  her  stern  timbers.  When  the  tide  started  flooding  she  drove  over  the  banks  and  foundered  early  the  following  morning.  The  Master  and  his  crew  took  to  the  rigging  and  were  rescued  at  daybreak  by  the  crew  of  the  tug  “Beaufort”.  The  tug  Master  Griffith  Rosser  was  awarded  a  sovereign  and  the  R.N.L.I’s  thanks  on  vellum.  The  tug  crew  were  awarded  ten  shillings  each.
1856 – February  8th.   A  well  known  Swansea  copper  barque,  the  “Catherine  Jenkins”,  Santiago,  Cuba,  for  Swansea  with  a  cargo  of  copper  ore  was  wrecked  at  Lucas  Cove,  just  west  of  Owxich  Point. The  vessel  began  to  break  up  on  contact  with  the  rocks. Eleven  crew  members  boarded  the  gig  and  started  heading  for  the  shore.  After  making  just  a  few  ships  lengths  towards  the  shore  the  gig  capsized,  throwing  everyone  into  the  water.  Seven  of  these  crew  members  were  lost.  Five  of  the  original  crew  had  died  in  Santiago  with  Yellow  Fever.
1856 – September  27th.    A  number  of  vessels  were  sheltering  in  Swansea  Bay  from  a  south-westerly  gale.  The  gale  backed  to  the  south-east  and  increased  to  hurricane  force.  The  vessels  at  anchor  now  found  themselves  on  a  lee  shore.  Eight  vessels  sank  at  their  anchors,  nine  parted  their  anchor  cables  and  were  driven  ashore  and  another  five  vessels  were  damaged.  The  coastguard  galley  saved  the  crews  of  the schooners  “Monkey”,  of  Drogheda  and  the  “Western  Star”  of  New  Ross.  A  shore  boat  manned  by  the  Jenkins  brothers  and  Tom  Michael  saved  the  crew  of  the  “Emmet”,  of  Aberaeron,  the  Exeter  brigantine  “Pioneer”  and  the  “Happy  Return”  of  Padstow.  Two  of  the  vessels  that  were  driven  ashore  were  the   Gloucester  schooner  “Swiftsure”  and  the  Swansea  barque  “Pascoe  Grenfell”.
1857 – March  15th.  The  lugger  “Juanita”,  Swansea  for  Seville,  sank  at  her  anchors  while  sheltering  from  a  gale. The  hull  and  masts  of  the  vessel  were  salvaged  and  later  sold  in  Swansea.
1857 - On the night of 29th  March  the schooner “Trevaunance”, of St.Ives, Cornwall, struck a sandbank off Porthcawl, and sank in a severe gale. The crew of four climbed the rigging to  save themselves from going down with the ship.  They lashed themselves to the topmast and waited for daylight as they had had no time to signal their distress and they could not be seen from the shore in the darkness. In the morning they were seen from the shore and a boat was sent to try to rescue them. The volunteer crew of this boat consisted of three pilots, James and Thomas Pearse and John Jones, and a seaman, George Clark. Unfortunately they could not get near enough to the mast to which the survivors were clinging. The small boat waited for several hours in danger itself, to get close to the sunken vessel, but as the tide rose the vessel submerged further and the survivors came closer and closer to drowning. Seeing that this was the last chance the crew of the rescue boat decided to try once more and with strenuous effort they managed to get close enough to grab the ratlines and three of the sailors got into the boat in a terrible condition. The fourth was already dead and his body could not be recovered. In all the survivors had been lashed to the mast for 16 hours.The four volunteer rescuers were each awarded the RNLI Silver Medal and a gratuity.
1858 – January  2nd.  The  Llanelli  smack  “Louis”,  bound  from  her  home  port  for  Rouen  with  a cargo  of  coal,  lost  her  mainsail  during  a  squall.  The  crew  of  three  men  and  two  boys  abandoned  ship  and  were  picked  up  by  the  Tenby  fishing  vessel  “Ann”.  The  “Louis”  was  eventually  wrecked  on  Port  Eynon  Point.
1858 – June  11th.  The  “Busy”  of  Beaumaris,  Barrow  for  Neath  with  iron  ore,  struck  the  Mixon  and  sank  before  she  could  be  driven  ashore,
1858 – October  2nd.  The  “Hazard”  of  Westport,  County  Mayo,  became  overwhelmed  during  a  gale  and  went  down  of  Oxwich. The  crew   of  four  were  picked  up . During  the  same  gale  the  “Emily”  of   Bridgewater,  was  driven  ashore  and  wrecked  at  Port  Eynon.
1858 - On 13th  October  the schooner “Ajax”, of Plymouth, was wrecked off Kenfig Sands near Porthcawl. Seven coastguards pulled a gig  along the foreshore and put out to the rescue in heavy seas. They saved all six crew members. James Collopy and Daniel Shea (Chief Officer of the Coastguards) were awarded the RNLI Silver Medal and the other rescuers received cash rewards for their bravery. Daniel Shea won the Silver Medal four times in all but was eventually drowned when the Padstow Lifeboat capsized in 1867.
1858 – October  19th.  A  rare  north-easterly  gale  blew  over  the  channel  and  drove  a  schooner  onto  the  Middle  Head  at  Mumbles.  The  pilot  boat  “Neptune”  lost  her  anchor  cables  and  was  driven  ashore  and  was severely  damaged.  At  high  water  the  pilot  vessel  “Sarah”  was  driven  ashore  and  scuttled  by  the  crew  to  lessen  the  damage.  Five  local  oyster  skiffs  also  parted  their  moorings  and  were  wrecked.
1859 - In May  the schooner “Amelia”  of Dartmouth foundered in a gale in the Channel. The crew of four were saved by the Coastguards.
1859 –September  28th.   The  ninety-five  ton  ketch  “Friends”  foundered  on  the  Helwick  Shoal .  The  crew  of  six  perished.
1859 – October  25th.  A  violent  storm  prevailed  over  western  Britain.  Four  vessels  were  driven  ashore  at  the  Mumbles.  The  Llanelli  smack  “Eliza”  was  the  only  vessels  wrecked.  The  sloop  “Union”,  bound  for  Llanelli  from  Bridgewater  with  railway  sleepers,  was  driven  ashore  at  Worms  Head.  The  crew  managed  to  get  ashore.
1859 – October  31st.  The  schooner  “Robert  Henry”,  of  Hayle, bound  for  Swansea,   foundered  four  miles  off  Pennard.  The  crew  managed  to  row  ashore.
1859 - On 2nd  November  the Jersey barque “ Sunda”  went aground on Kenfig Sands, near Porthcawl, The master, his wife and four crew got into the ship's boat but were in danger of capsizing. C R Mansel Talbot, MP, of Margam Abbey (son of the founder of the town of Port Talbot) and John Williams, a local farmer, waded out into the sea to help them to land. A pilot vessel and a tug took the remainder of the crew off from the sea. The Silver Medal was awarded to Mansel Talbot and John Williams.
1859 – The  brigantine  “William  &  Mary”,  of  Youghal,  bound  for  her  home  from  Swansea,  was  caught  in  a  violent  squall  and  was  driven  onto  the  Mumbles.  The  vessel  was  wrecked,  losing  the  cargo  of  coal,  but  the  crew  survived.
1860 - In October  the schooner “Kingston”, of Cork was wrecked off Penarth Head. Her crew of six escaped with the help of two local men who went into the sea to rescue them.
1860  - On 14th  October the French schooner “Jeune Honore”  was in collision with an Austrian ship off Lavernock Point near Penarth. The schooner's foremast fell into the sea with three men clinging to it. Three hands from a Bristol Pilot cutter managed to save the three men by use of their punt.
1861 - On 3rd  January   the “Mary Jane” , of St.Ives, Cornwall, went aground on the Scarweather Sands. The crew abandoned her and got to safety and the boat was taken into Porthcawl Harbour by the new Porthcawl lifeboat (Good Deliverance) and repaired, only to be wrecked again, finally this time, at Portreath, Cornwall.
1861 - On 19th  February  the large American full-rigged ship “William D Sewell” bound from Bristol to Swansea in tow of a tug, became detached from her tug. She dropped anchors but these did not hold her and she dragged toward the West Nash Sands off Porthcawl. The Porthcawl lifeboat was called out but the packet steamer “Mars”, of Waterford, Ireland, reached her first and towed her to Bristol for repair.
1861 – The  brigantine  “Villiers”,  Cardiff  for  Alicante  with  coal,  struck  the  Mixon  Shoal  after  putting  about  down  at  Worms  Head  due  to  freshening  south-westerly  winds. Two  crew  members  were  plucked  from  the  water  and  a  further   four  were  found  next  day  clinging  to  the  rigging.  Two  crew  members  perished.
1862 – March  5th.  A  schooner  was  observed  foundering  of  the  Mixon.  The  coastguard  was  alerted  and  launched  their  galley.  It  was  joined  by  the  pilot  boats  “Vivian”,  of  Swansea  and  the  “Kate”  of  Port  Talbot.  When  both  these  vessels  reached  the  scene  the   mastheads  were  visible  but  no  survivors  were     found.  The  vessel  was  later  identified  as  “Victoria  &  Albert”  of  Dungarven,  which  had  been  bound  for  Swansea  with  copper  ore.
1862 - On 20th  December  the brigantine “Champion”, of Liverpool, returning home from New Brunswick, Canada, with a cargo of timber, was driven off course and into the Bristol Channel by a strong gale. She went aground on the Scarweather Sands, breaking her mainmast. Her distress signal flags were seen from the mainland and the Porthcawl lifeboat went to her assistance, saving her nine crew and one passenger.
1863 - In January  the Russian barque “ Heinrich Sorensen”, bound from Bordeaux to Cardiff in ballast, was caught in a great storm and driven ashore on Breaksea Point, near Barry. The ship's boat had been lost and the crew of twelve decided to try to swim or wade ashore. William John of Limpert Farm and three other local men went into the dangerous seas and managed to assist all of the crew to safety. This was not the first time that William John had helped to save life and he was awarded the RNLI silver medal for his bravery.
1863 – January  19th ,an  unknown  two  masted  vessel  ran  onto  Tusker  Rock.  She  disappeared  and  several  hours  later  wreckage  was  seen  floating  past  Porthcawl  Harbour.  Her  name  was  never  discovered.
1863 – February  19th.   The  barque  “Laconic”,  Swansea  for  Tenerife  with  a  cargo  of  coal,  whilst  in  a  dead  calm  with  thick  fog,  drifted  onto  the  western  end  of  the  Helwick  Shoal  and  the  crew  abandoned  as  the  vessel  broke  up.  Her  crew  managed  to  reach  Rhossili  in  their  boats.
1863 – October  8th.  The  Sunderland  brig  “J.O”  was  being  towed  out  of  the   Burry  Estuary  laden  with  a  cargo  of  culm.    The  tug  and  tow   met  a  heavy  ground  swell  off   Whitford  Point  and   the  tow  parted.  The  brig  was  driven  ashore  and  the  crew  managed  to  get  safely  ashore.
1863 - On 3rd  December  the Penarth lifeboat, George Gay, made her first successful attempt at rescue when the full rigged “Jupiter”, of London, and the barque “ Ellings”, collided in Penarth Roads in a heavy N.W.gale. The “Jupiter's” crew of 8 jumped into the lifeboat as she pulled alongside the ship but were persuaded to return to the ship to try to save her, which, after two hours was accomplished sufficiently for her to find safety.
1864 -   February  10th.    The  Port  Talbot  brigantine  “Peri”  ran  headlong  on  to  the  rocks  at  Skysea  and  became  a  total  wreck.  The  crew  clambered  onto  the  rocks  and  they  were  spotted  at  daybreak  and   rescued  by  boat.
1864 –September  19th, the  brig  “Industrious”,  Llanelli  for  Malta  with  coal,  ran  onto  the  sand  at  Knackershole,  Porteynon.  The  elderly  vessel  quickly  broke  up  without  any  loss  of  life.
1864 – November  18th.  During   a  severe  south-westerly  gale  the  smack  “Desiree”,  of  St.  Vaast,  was  bound  for   Le  Havre  from  Swansea  with  a  cargo  of  coal  ran  back   before  the  weather  and  anchored  in  Oxwich  Bay.  Four  hours  after  anchoring  her  cables  parted  and  she  was  driven  ashore.  Some  local   men  saw  the  vessel  and  rushed  to  beach  and  rescued  the  crew  of  five.On  the  same  day the  Conway  schooner  “Hectorine”,  on  passage  from  Cork  to  Llanelli,  was  riding  to  her  anchor  inside  the  Worm  when  the  cable  parted.  The  schooner  was  driven  up  towards  Llangennith  and  the  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  when  the  vessel  broke  up.  Some  days  later  some  wreckage,  including  the  stern  board  of  “The  Lady  of  the  Lake”,  of  Bristol.  The  vessels  boat  was  found  ashore  and  more  wreckage  was  washed  up  at  Oxwich.
1864 - On the same  night of 18th  November  the Penarth lifeboat, George Gay, was towed by the paddle tug Marquis to the English and Welsh Grounds, near the mouth of the river Usk where the full rigged ship “ Far West”, of Newport, with 22 crew, on her voyage from Chile via Queenstown, Ireland, to Newport, had run aground after losing her anchors when her hawsers and windlass broke in a S.W.gale off Lundy and she drifted up Channel. Some of the lifeboatmen were put aboard and she was connected to three tugs, the Marquis, Iron Duke and Pilot. Her anchors were recovered and she was re-floated and towed to Bristol for repair.
1865 – January  26th. A   derelict  schooner  was   found  washed  ashore  at  Overton.  The  vessel  was  the  schooner  “Francis  &  Ann”  of  Jersey,  bound  for  Bristol  from  Palermo  with  a  cargo  of  oranges.  The  cargo  was  strewn  along  the  shore  and  most  it  was  saved.  There  was  no  sign  of  the  crew.  It  later  transpired  that  the  vessel  struck  the  Helwick  Shoal  during  a  snowstorm.  The  crew  took  to  the  boats  and  sought  refuge  on  the  Helwick  lightship.  The  crew  were  later  transferred  to  a  passing  steamer  and  landed  at  Milford.
1865 – January  27th.  The  wreck  of  the  Cardiff  pilot  cutter  No.  20,  “Robin  Hood”,  was  washed  ashore  at  Langland.  She  had  been  run  down  under  the  bows  of  a    barque  off  Ilfracombe.  The  crew  were  saved.
1865 -   August  23rd. A  pleasure  craft  carrying  a  party  of  Neath  businessmen  capsized  in  the  race  off  Mumbles  Head.  The  Swansea  pilot  cutter  “Grenfell”  saved  five  but  three  people  were  lost.
1865 - In November  the Portuguese barque “Argo” was abandoned by her crew near the Tusker Rocks off Porthcawl. The crew survived and the barque was saved by the Porthcawl lifeboat crew.
1866  - On 2nd  January the barque “Jacques”, of St.Malo, and the ship “Industrie”, of Hamburg, came into contact in a heavy gale, and the Penarth lifeboat, now renamed from George Gale to Baroness Windsor, had to disentangle them.
1866 - On 10th  January  the “Hannah Moore” of 1129 tons on a voyage from Chile to Queenstown, Ireland was blown off course and took shelter in Lundy Roads. However her sails were torn by the wind and she dragged her anchor. The next morning the crew were seen clinging to the rigging. Two Bideford men, Thomas Saunders and Samuel Jarmon took a punt out in an attempt to get a line to the ship, but in twenty minutes the ship had been lifted onto Rat Island off Lundy and broken up. Only six crew managed to keep from being washed overboard from a part of the wreck. These were eventually rescued by the punt. The other 19 crew were drowned.
1866 – March  20th. The  “Eliza  Jane”  which  had  sailed  from  Cardiff  earlier  that  day,  was  abandoned  in  a  sinking  condition    off  Worms  Head.  The  six  crew  members  were   picked  up  by  the  Newquay  schooner  “Equity”  and  landed  at  Swansea.
1866  - On 23rd  March the brig “Claudia”, of Belfast, went onto Cardiff Sands in a strong gale and sprang a leak, which caused her hold to rapidly fill with water, despite the strenuous pumping of her crew. Lifeboatmen from the Penarth lifeboat, Baroness Windsor, went aboard to help and she was eventually freed her and took her to a safe place on Cardiff East Mudflats.
1866 - On the same day, 23rd  March, the Whitby brig “ Vesta”  foundered in Swansea Bay. The crew of seven took to the rigging and were saved by the Mumbles lifeboat (Martha and Anne).
1866 – March  23rd.  the  “Electric  Flash”  of  Hayle,  carrying  a  hundred  tons  of  coal  from  Porthcawl  was  driven  ashore  at  Porteynon  and  became  a  total  loss.  The  crew  were  saved  by  a  boat  from  the  shore.
1866 - On 2th  March  the wooden paddle steamer “Queen” (Captain Granville Spray) left Ilfracombe at 10.30 pm. In a thick fog the little paddler struck the Tings Rocks off Hartland Point, Devon. However, the master managed to get her off the rocks and made back towards Ilfracombe. She was badly holed, though, and was shipping water rapidly, and, as a result, the master ran her intentionally onto the beach at Clovelly. The 37 passengers on board and the crew were ferried ashore and over the next two days the cargo was removed. Very soon after the cargo had been removed the boat broke her back and was finally wrecked. The captain, who was the son of the previous captain, John Spray, was subsequently found guilty of neglecting to measure the depth of water near the coast.
1866 – May  24th , an  unknown  French  lugger  was  wrecked  on  the  Scarweather  Sands.  The  Porthcawl  lifeboat  was  unable  to  get  near  and  all  hands  were  lost.  The  vessels  name  was  never  discovered.1866 – September  10th.  Two  day  after  leaving  Swansea  bound  for  Barcelona  with  a  cargo  of  coal,  the  brig  “Chasseur”  of  Nantes,  which  had  put  back  to  the  Mumbles  during  bad  weather,  parted  her  cables  and  was  wrecked  on  the  Greengrounds.  The  incident  was  not  seen  by  anyone  and  the  crew  spent  four  hours  in  the  rigging  before  being  rescued  by  the  crew  of  the  tug  “Tweed”
1867 – January  7th.. Severe  westerly  gales  prevailed  and  the  Pembrey  lifeboat  “City  of  Bath”  rescued  eight  crew  members  off  the  brigantine  “Seraphim”  of  Dunkirk.  The  vessel  had  been  wrecked  near  Kidwelly.  The  next  morning  the  weather  showed  no  sings  of  easing  and  a  lugger  was  observed  going  over  the  middle  spit  of  the  Lynch  Sands  of  Whitford..  The  “City  of  Bath”  was  again  launched  and  after  negotiating  the  maze  of  channels  off  the  Burry  Bar  the  crew  of  the  “Espoir”  of  Nantes,  from  Swansea  with  coal,  were  observed  in  the  rigging.  The  lifeboat  managed  to  get  alongside  and  rescued  all  the  crew.  The  vessel  broke  up  and  was  washed  ashore  at  Llanmadoc.  Just  after  landing  the  crew  of  the  “Espoir”  the  lifeboat  crew  were  informed  that  a  brig  was  seen  riding  to  her  anchors  off  Burry  Holms  in  a  distressed  condition.  When  the  lifeboat  managed  to  get  alongside  the  vessel,  the  “Zenith”,  of  Sunderland,  she  was  almost  submerged  and  had   been  abandoned.  Later  that  day  the  vessels  boat  and  the  bodies  of  her  crew  were  washed  up  at  Broughton
1867 - On 9th  January  the French schooner “Jeanne d'Arc”  parted her cables and split her sails in Mumbles Roads in a severe storm and was drifting hopelessly. The Mumbles lifeboat (Wolverhampton) was called out and put men on board her to help set new sails, whilst their colleagues brought out a steam tug which towed her to Swansea.
1867 – February.  The  Prussian  brig  “Fortuna”,  with  a  cargo  of  cotton  and  sugar  from  Venezuela  for  Liverpool,  became  dismasted  during  a  storm.  She  was  driven  up  the  channel  and  run  ashore  in  Broughton  Bay.  The  crew  were  saved  as  was  much  of  the  cargo.  The  vessel  was  a  total  loss.
1867 – March  10th.  The  Whitstable  brig  “Anemone”,  Newhaven  to  Cardiff  in  ballast,  was  wrecked  at  Porteynon.  The  crew  were  saved.
1867  - On 14th  April the brig “Wellington”, of Aberystwyth, was driven ashore in a severe gale. Mumbles lifeboat (Wolverhampton) stood by, but she the brig refloated on the rising tide and a tug took her to Swansea
1867 - On 17th  November  the brig “Marie”, of Grieffswald, Prussia, was driven up Channel having lost her anchor and cables. Being unladen she was driven into very shallow water. Attempts by three tugs and two pilot skiffs to get to her failed because they could not get close due to the shallowness of the water. After some 10 hours rowing the Penarth lifeboat managed to get under her lee and rescue all 11 crew. The lifeboatmen were, by this time, as exhausted as the crew and suffering severely from exposure.
1868  - January  13th. A  vessel  was  observed  stranded  on  the  north  ridge  off  Whitford  Point.  The  vessel  was  the  Cardiff  brig  “Albion”  with  a  cargo  of  copper  ore  and  esparto  grass  from  Almeria.  When  the  vessel  was  boarded,  the  galley  fire  was  still  alight  and  the  ships  cat  was  running  around.  There  were  no  signs  of  the  crew.  Later  that  day the  bodies  of  two  crew  members  were  washed  up  on  Whitford  beach  and  the  following  day  a  local  farmer  found  five  more  bodies  on  Llanrhidian  marsh.  It  appears  that  the  crew  all  drowned  while  trying  to  get  ashore.
1868 – January  23rd. Many  vessels  had  been  weather  bound  in  Llanelli for  a  few  days  and  on  this  day  nineteen  colliers  left  the  port.  Some  sailed  on  their  own  and  five  were  strung  together  and  towed  down  the  estuary  by  the  tug  “Royal  Princess”.  A  terrific  swell  was  running  over  the  bar  at  this  time  and  as  the  vessels  crossed  the  bar  the  wind  eased  away.  The  vessels  with  sea  room  managed  to  get  away  but  the  others  were  at  the  mercy  of  the  elements.  Eleven  vessels  were  wrecked  at  Rhossili,  Broughton  and  Llangennith  and  a  total  of  eighteen  seamen  lost  their  lives.  There  appears  to  be  some  confusion  as  to  the  number  of  vessels  actually  lost  as  some  reports  give  sixteen  vessels  lost.  The  vessels  “Onward”,  “Amethyst”,  and  “Jennie  Celine”  foundered  with  all  hands,  while  the  “Brothers”,  “Roscius”  and  “Huntress”  were  three  of  the  vessels  that  were  stranded  on  the  sands.  The  “Anne”  was  wrecked  on  Burry  Holmes  whilst  the  “Mary  Fanny”,  with  a  crew  of  four  safely  rounded  Burry  Holmes  only  to  be  wrecked  in  Rhosilli  Bay.  This  vessel  was  later  salvaged  and  rebuilt  and  continued  trading  until  sunk  by  a  U-Boat  in  1918.
1868  - On the morning of 28th  December there was a strong gale blowing onshore at Appledore, Devon, An Austrian ship “Pace” , bound from Glasgow to Fiume with pig iron, was seen to be in difficulties in Bideford Bay, and the cox of the Appledore Lifeboat, Joseph Cox, with his son Joseph as second cox, called out the rest of the lifeboat crew and, with the lifeboat Hope on a horse drawn carriage, the crew followed the movement of the ship across the bay until she grounded on the sands. The lifeboat was then launched and with great difficulty due to the huge waves, made her way to the grounded vessel, threw a grapnel into the rigging and shouted to the crew. However there was no reply. A little later a boy appeared on deck and jumped into the lifeboat, and then eight men dashed to the side of the ship and dived into the sea, where they were picked up by the lifeboat, although in the process the Hope was dashed against the stern of the Pace, trapping the cox. Fortunately his cork lifejacket saved him from death, but the Hope lost her rudder. The lifeboatmen continued to shout to the remainder of the ship's crew to abandon ship, but they did not know that the crew had been instructed by the captain not to abandon the ship nor even to throw a line to the lifeboat, as he believed that she could be refloated on the next tide. With the lifeboat rudderless the cox had to give up and try to get back to the shore, which he did with severe difficulty. On reaching the shore the cox called for more volunteers to go back out with him to try to save the remaining crew. Despite attempts to persuade him otherwise he found sufficient men prepared to join him and he and his son and John Kelly from the original crew with the new volunteers went out in the lifeboat, still without its rudder, Joseph Cox junior steering with an oar. As they got close to the Pace, Joseph Cox junior was thrown into the sea and the boat thus lost it’s steering and capsized, all the crew being thrown overboard. However, the boat righted itself and the crew managed to get back aboard but had lost all but three oars. Joseph Cox senior was now injured and only semi-conscious, and the lifeboat again returned to the shore. The Braunton lifeboatmen had been unable to get their boat across the bay but walked to Appledore and would have taken the Hope out again but it was decided that it would be too risky and with the tide falling the Pace was unlikely to face further danger. Later, when the tide had receded a number of Appledore men waded out to the Pace and rescued the three remaining crewmen, two having fallen from the rigging and been killed.The captain was the last to be rescued. Meanwhile another ship, the Leopard, returning to Gloucester from the West Indies, was also driven aground  in Bideford Bay, near Westward Ho ! Here David Johns, one of the crew of the Hope on its first attempt to rescue the crew of the Pace, volunteered to swim out to the grounded boat with a line, since it had proved impossible to get a line to the ship by rocket from Westward Ho ! This he did and tried three times to board the Leopard, but was finally struck on the head by some wreckage and sadly drowned. Another Appledore man subsequently managed to get a line to the ship and all the crew were rescued. The RNLI awarded Joseph Cox senior two clasps to his medal which he had originally been awarded in 1801. Both Joseph Cox junior and John Kelly were awarded silver medals, and another 25 men also received lesser awards. Later the Emperor of Austria awarded silver crosses of merit to both Joseph senior and junior and to John Kelly.
1869 - On 5th  December  the Spanish schooner “ Loretta”, bound from Liverpool to Cuba,  was seen drifting towards Nash Sands near Porthcawl, having been blown off course. The Porthcawl lifeboat (Good Deliverance) went to her aid, initially taking off the master's wife and then the whole crew of eleven and the pilot.
1869 – December  13th.  The  schooner  “Corliana”,  Clonakilty  to  Newport  in  ballast,  was  driven  ashore  in  a  south  westerly  gale  near  Llanmadoc.  The  vessel  was  wrecked  but  the  crew  were  all  saved.
1869 – December  31st.  A  heavy  gale  said  goodbye  to  the  year  and  the  brig  “Nuavo  Plauto”  of  Trieste,  bound  for  Neath  with  a cargo  of  grain  from  the  Black  Sea,  parted  her  cables  while  anchored  off  the  Mumbles  and  went  down  on  the  Greengrounds.  The  crew  got  ashore  safely  in  their  boats.On  the  same  day  ,  the  barque  “Artistic”  of  Newport,  bound  from  her  home  port  for  Brazil  with  a  cargo  of  coal,  struck  Helwick  . The  Master  and  two  crew  members  remained  on  board  while  the  rest  were  taken  off,  The  vessel  was  refloated  on  the  next  flood  tide.
1870 – January  2nd.  A  small  boat  was  found  adrift  in  Swansea  Bay.  The  boat  contained  the  body  of  William  John  Brown,  a  seaman  of  the  “Eliza”  of  Plymouth.  The  vessel  was  a  regular  Swansea  trader.  Ten  days  later  the  sternboard  of  the  vessel  was  washed  ashore  west  of  Langland.  Nothing  was  ever  seen  of  the  vessel  or  her  crew.
1870 – June  23rd. The  steamer  “Sheldrake”,  Swansea  to  Bordeaux,  collided  with  the  Barrow  schooner  “Mary”,  Barrow  to  Cardiff  with  pig  iron,  four  miles  southwest  of  Oxwich  Point.  The  schooner  rapidly  sank  drowning  the  Captains  wife.  A  crew  member  of  the  “Sheldrake”  was  killed  by  a  falling  spar.  The  schooners  crew  were  picked  up  by  the  “Sheldrake”  and  landed  at  Swansea  when  the  vessel  put  back  for  repairs.
1870 – October  12th.  A  westerly  storm  blew  over  the  south  west  of  Britain  causing  many  maritime  casualties.  The  schooner  “Joseph  et  Marie”,  Sardinia  for  Swansea  with  zinc  ore,  foundered  in  the  entrance  channel  to  Swansea. The  crew  were  saved. The  Faversham  schooner  “Brigand”  sank  after  a  collision  in  the  crowded  anchorage  at  the  Mumbles  and  the  crew  were  rescued  by  the  crew  of  the  tug  “Pero  Gomez”.
1870  - In December the Cardiff Pilot cutter “Dasher” started to break up after hitting the Tusker Rock near Porthcawl in a thick fog. Because of the weather the wreck was not sighted and the pilot and his two assistants used the wreckage to build a raft on which they tried to head for the shore. Fortunately they were picked up by the Porthcawl Lifeboat (Good Deliverance).1871 – March  9th.  The  square  rigger  “Daring”  left  Swansea  on  the  morning  tide  with  a  skeleton  crew  and  minimum  ballast  aboard,  bound  for  Cardiff.  She  was  being  towed  by  the  steam  tug  “Cambria”.  While  heading  out  to  pass  to  the  west  of  the  Scarweather  Sands  the  wind  increased  to  gale  force  from  the  west.  It  was  decided  to  put  back  for  Swansea  but  the  manoeuvre  failed  and  the  tug  was  slipped  in  attempt  for  the  vessel  to  wear  ship.  It  became  obvious  that  the  vessel  was  heading  for  the  shore  and  the  tugmaster  went  alongside  in  an   attempt  to  rescue  the  crew.  As  they  neared  the  vessel   the  crew  were  observed  abandoning  ship  on  the  other  side  in  an  attempt  to  row  ashore  at  Hunts  Bay.  All  six  crew  members  perished  and  the  vessel  was  wrecked  at  Pwll  Du.
1871 – April  21st.  The  Neath  pilot  vessel  “Black  Swan”  was  returning  to  the  Mumbles  after  boarding  some  vessels.  She  sailed  through  some  wreckage  containing  two  bodies.  It  was  later  discovered  they  were  crew  members  of  the  Truro  schooner  “Cornish  Diamond”  which  had  struck  the  Mixon  Shoal  some  hours  earlier.
1872 – January  11th.  The   three  hundred  ton  steamer  “Hazard”  of  Leith,  Rouen  to  Swansea  in  ballast,  struck  the  rocks  at  Porteynon  Point.  One  of  the  sixteen  crew  members  was  injured  when  the  vessel  struck  and  sank  rapidly.  The  Master’s  certificate  was  suspended  for  three  months.
1872 -   October  30th.  The  Littlehampton  brig  “Alfred”  was  surrounded  by  broken  water  on  the  Lynch  Sands  when  the  crew  assisted    by the  crew  of  the  Pembrey  lifeboat  “Stanton  Meyrick  of  Pimlico”  and  the  vessel  was  taken  into  Burry  Port.
1872 - On 1st  November  the “Magna Charta”, of Halifax, Nova Scotia, and the Norwegian barque “Jernbyrd” collided in a heavy gale in Penarth Roads. The Canadian ship freed herself but the Penarth lifeboat,  a new George Gay, was sent to help the Norwegian barque which was holed just below the waterline and in danger of sinking. The master of the barque requested the cox of the lifeboat to stand by whilst he and his crew tried to patch up the hole. Fortunately she was sufficiently repaired by the crew that at dawn of the next day she could be towed by tug to Cardiff for repair.
1872 – November  23rd.  The  Norwegian  barque  “Pera”  St.  Johns,  New  Brunswick  with  timber,  was  driven  up  channel  in  horrendous  weather.  She  was  driven  ashore  at  Port  Tennant.  The  Master  and  his  wife  along  with  the  fifteen  crew  members  got  ashore  safely.  The  vessel  was  wrecked.
1872 – November  25th.   The  brig  “Paladino”,  Messina  for  Hull  with  linseed  oil,  ran  up  channel  seeking  shelter  but  failed  to  anchor  at  the  Mumbles,  She  was  driven  ashore  near  the  Swansea  Infirmary  and   the  crew  were  taken  off  by  the  lifeboat  at  daylight  next  day.  The  vessel  broke  up  after  a  few  tides.During  the  same  gale  the  Italian  barque  “Antonio  Luca”,  Newcastle  for  Venice  with  coal  &  coke,  was  driven  up  channel  and  wrecked  on  Oxwich  Point.
1872 – December  8th.   The  North  Shields   barque  “Margaret  Ann”,  Quebec  for  Swansea  with  timber  was  driven  ashore  outside  the  piers.  The  crew  were  saved  and  the  vessel  was  later  refloated.During  the  same  gale  the  collier  “Hope”  of  Maryport,  Cork  to  Swansea  in  ballast,  was  driven  ashore  in  Porteynon  Bay.  The  Master  and  three  crew  members  managed  to  get  ashore  and  the  vessel  quickly  broke  up.
1872 –   During  what  turned  out  to  be a very bad day in the Channel. The brig “Wallace” rolled over completely and sunk with all hands; a Nova Scotian barque was driven across the hawse of another ship and so badly damaged that she too sank with all hands. “The Eleanor”, of Quebec, was luckier. Having gone aground on Cardiff Sands the Penarth lifeboat, George Gay, managed to get to her, saving five crew members, but the mate would not leave the ship. The following day she was still there and the lifeboat went out to her again, the mate asked that they bring some of the crew back to try to save her, and fortunately they managed to refloat her and get her to Cardiff for repair.
1872 - Also on the 8th  December, the Weston super Mare cutter “ Mystery” which serviced the forts in the area, left Flat Holm with an officer and eleven men in addition to the crew of two, bound for the fort at the tip of Brean Down, Somerset. Very shortly a severe gale blew up and the small boat had to head for shelter. She got behind Penarth Head but became stranded on the river bank. In the process of the stranding she also lost her punt. That evening she refloated, dragged her anchor and drifted out into Penarth Roads where she crossed, out of control, astern of the schooner John Pearce, of Fowey, and her mast was torn adrift by the schooner's mizzen boom. When her mast was lost she also lost some of her deck planking and she began to fill with water, to the point where she was close to sinking. The mate of the John Pearce, Richard Johns, launched a boat and pulled to the sinking cutter getting a rope aboard her. The crew of the John Pearce were then able to use the rope to haul the cutter alongside so that twelve of the soldiers and crew aboard her scrambled to safety. Two soldiers, however, fell between the two vessels. Richard Johns, without hesitation, got his small boat between the two larger vessels and pulled the soldiers from the water. Johns was awarded the RNLI Silver Medal for his bravery.
1873 – March  3rd. The  Greek  barque   “Odysseus”,  Dublin  to  Swansea  in  ballast,  ran  aground  on  Pwll  Du  Point.  The  crew  got  ashore  safely  but  the  vessel  was  wrecked.
1873 – April  23rd.  The  London  barque  “Nebula”,  Antwerp  to  Cardiff  in  ballast,  ran  aground  on  Porteynon  Point.  The  crew  were  all  saved.  The  vessel  was  badly  damaged  but  later  repaired  and  refloated.
1873 – August  12th.  The  St.  Malo  schooner  “Elizabeth”,  bound  for  her  home  port  with  a  cargo  of  coal  from  Swansea,  went  down  south  east  of  Worms  Head. The  Master  and  three  crew  members  were  picked  up  by  the  schooner  “Pet”.  The  ships  boy  was  drowned.
1873 -  On 29th  August  the Prussian barque “Triton”, with a crew of nine, on reaching Lundy Island, turned toward the Mumbles to avoid a storm. She was driven onto the Mixon Sands and broke up. Against the orders of the master two men and a boy took one of the ship's boats but capsized, the two men being drowned whilst luckily the boy was seen drifting by another vessel and was saved. Five of the crew  were saved by the paddle tug Digby Grand, and the Mumbles lifeboat saved the remaining man. The Cox of the lifeboat, Jenkin Jenkins, was presented with a binocular glass by the Emperor of Germany, and the other crew members received cash awards.
1874 – December  3rd.  The    Brixham  schooner  “Dextrous”,  having  previously  sailed  from  Neath,  was  riding  to  anchor  at  the  Mumbles  when  the  brig   “Alfred”  collided  with  her.  The  brig  was  damaged  and  towed  to  Swansea  but  the  schooner  quickly  sank  and  her  crew  boarded  the  “Aneroid”  before  being  landed  at  the  Mumbles.

1875 – January  2nd.  The  Swedish  schooner  “Britannia”,  Le  Havre  to  Cardiff  in  ballast,  ran  aground  at  Porteynon  in  poor  visibility.  The  crew  were  able  to  walk  ashore  at  low  water.  Included  in  the  crew  were  two  pilots  assistants  off  the  Cardiff  pilot  cutter  “Surprize”  which  had  foundered  off  Ilfracombe  the  previous  evening.
1875 – June  24th.  The  Padstow  schooner  “Caroline  Phillips”  was  lost  on  the  Mixon  Shoal  with  the  loss  of  her  crew  of  four.
1875 – December  22nd. During  a  horrible  gale  the  Russian  barque  “Jenny”,  Pensacola (Mexico)  to  Bristol  with  timber,  went  ashore  below  Pilton  Cliffs.  The  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  off  the  bowsprit  but  the  vessel  was  smashed  to  pieces.
1876 – February  28th.  The  Guernsey  smack  “Reverie”,  outward  bound  from  Cardiff  to  a  French  port,  was  found  upturned  on  the  Lynch  sands  off  Whitford.  All  hands  perished.
1876 – March  13th.  The  barque  “France”  and  the  brig  “Eliza  B”  both  sailed  from  Swansea  on  the  morning  tide.  Later  that  evening  they  collided  south  of  Oxwich  in  a  strong  gale,  which  coincided  with  a  spring  tide.  The  barque  was  badly  damaged  and  the  crew,  with  the  exception  of  the  Mater  and  one  trapped  crew  member  went  aboard  the  brig.  The  barque  sank  during  the  early  morning  hours  and  the  Master  took  to  the  ships  boat  which  was  blown  up  to  the Mumbles  where  he  was  rescued.  The  unfortunate  trapped  man  went  down  with  the  ship.
1877 – January  24th. The  schooner  “Gleaning”,  a  regular  trader  in  Limestone  between  Gower  and  Bideford  was  wrecked  with  the  loss  of  all  hands  on  Burry  Holms.
1877  - February -  Steamer Ethel wrecked on the Black Rock off Lundy. 19 lost only the mate survived.
1877  - On the evening of 7th  March the new Penarth lifeboat, Joseph Denman, was launched to stand by to assist the brig “ Crocodile”, of Dartmouth, which had gone ashore on Cardiff Sands in a gale. Fortunately the “ Crocodile” was refloated on the flood tide and sailed on to Cardiff.
1877 – November  8th.  The  paddle  tug  “Haswell”  had  just  left  Swansea  for  her  home  port  of  Sunderland  when she  encountered  a  westerly  gale and  foundered  off  Oxwich.  The  crew  of  eight  were  picked  up  by  the  pilot  cutter  “Benson”.
1877 - On 6th  December  the barque “Johann”, of Sundsvall, Norway, stranded on the Scarweather Sands. A pilot boat with five crew went to her assistance, in the Porthcawl lifeboat (Chafyn Grove) and with the help of the Swansea to Bristol packet, Velindra, rescued the ship's crew of nine.
1878 – January  3rd.  The  Falmouth  barque  “Tocapilla”,  Bolivia  to  Swansea  with  copper  ore,  ran  ashore  at  Rhossili  in  poor  visibility.  She  was  later  refloated  but  the  Masters  certificate  was  suspended  for  three  months.
1878 – May  10th.  The  steamer  “Foyle”,  of  Dublin,  was  steaming  up  the  channel  when  she  sank  the  Swansea  pilot  cutter  “Alarm”.  The  crew  were  taken  aboard  the  “Foyle”  and  later  transferred  to  the  pilot  cutter  “Benson”.
1878 - On 12th  May  the schooner “ Gipsy”  belonging to the Waterford Steam Navigation Co. was on a voyage from Bristol to Liverpool and Waterford. She was towed down the River Avon by the tug Sea King but shortly after passing under Clifton Suspension Bridge she struck rocks and mud on the Bristol bank. She listed over and blocked the river. Tugs tried to move her but failed. A steam driven fire engine was then brought by barge to pump the water out of her so that the cargo could be removed, but she broke in two. The crew remained on board and removed the cargo as they were in no real danger. The only passenger had left the ship safely shortly after she had gone aground. It was not until 17 May that a channel could be opened sufficiently for ship movements in the river Avon. Eventually some weeks later the remains of the “ Gipsy” were finally dynamited and the river fully re-opened.
1878 – September  4th. The  steamer  “Sully”,  of  Le  Havre,  became  stranded  at  Porteynon  during  poor  visibility.  She  was  later  refloated  and  docked  at  Swansea.
1879 - On 8th  January  the barque “Sarah Ann” bound for Montevideo foundered in Swansea Bay. Ten men were saved by the Mumbles lifeboat (Wolverhampton).
1879 – January  21st. The  Arendal  barque  “Mercur”,  Boston  to  Penarth  with  a  cargo  of  maize,  was  driven  ashore  at  Slade .  The  crew  got  ashore  safely  but  the  vessel  was  a  total  loss.
Later  in  January  the  brigantine  “Sofia”,  Naples  for  Swansea  in  ballast,  was  driven  ashore  during  a  south  easterly  gale  at  Longhole  Gut,  between  Paviland  and  Overton.  The  crew  of  nine  and  the  pilot  managed  to  get  ashore.
1879 – February  11th.  The  “Mary  Stenhouse”  was  being  towed  from  Barrow  to  Newport  when  the  tow  parted  and  the  vessel  ran  aground  at  Rhossili.  A  ships  boat  was  launched  and  contained  nine  crew  members  and  the  Masters  wife.  On  nearing  the  beach  a  heavy  swell  capsized  the  boat  and    all  ten  were  lost.  The  remaining  eleven  crew  members  and  the  mate’s  wife  were  rescued  by  Rhossili  L.S.A  Company.  The  vessel  was  refloated  the  following  morning  by  the  tug  “Hero”.
1879 – March  19th.  The  forty  ton  sloop  “Happy  Return”  of  Bideford,  Swansea  to  Carmarthen  with  superphospahates,  ran  onto  Porteynon  Point  in  thick  fog  and  became  a  total  loss.
1879 - On 27th  August  the Caernarvon brig “Queen of Britain” was in difficulties near the mouth of the River Neath. The Mumbles lifeboat (Wolverhampton) saved all six crew.
1880 - On 10th  February  the US barque “Corea”, of Boston, became stranded on the Green Grounds near Swansea, losing her keel and dragging her anchors. Her boats were lowered but these were smashed by the heavy seas. The Mumbles lifeboat took off her crew and a tug subsequently got her to Swansea.
1880 – August  7th.   A  strong  south  westerly  gale  veered  to  the  north  west.  The  Great  Yarmouth  brigantine  “Tidy”,  Portland  for  Llanelli  in  ballast,  was  driven  ashore  at  Broughton  Bay.  The  vessel  was  wrecked  but  the  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  safely.  When  the  gale  veered  to  the  north  west  the  Glasgow  steamer  “Loch  Etive”  was  caught  on  a  lee  shore  at  Rhossili.  To  escape  danger  the  Master  slipped  the  cables  at  high  water  and  drove  the  vessel  over  the  causeway  between  the  mainland  and  Worms  Head.
1880  - On 1st  December the schooner “Pet”, of Falmouth, went ashore on the harbour bar at Port Talbot, The Mumbles lifeboat took off the crew of five who had climbed the rigging to keep clear of the sea. The schooner became a total loss soon after.
1881 - During severe gales on the 21st and 22nd of January  twenty ships were ashore between Lavernock Point and West  Cardiff Flats. Three were large full rigged ships, the  “ Etta”, of Liverpool, the  “Buckinghamshire”, of London, and the “ Mirella”, of London; three were French brigs or schooners, the “Alexandrea”, the “Amiral”  and the “ Cecile”,  the remainder were smaller coastal craft.
1881 – January  27th.   The  barque  “Creswell”  of  Newcastle,  New  South  Wales,  Liverpool  for  Cardiff  in  ballast,  became  stranded  at  Paviland.  The  crew  were  all  saved  but  the  vessel  was  wrecked  within  five  hours.
1881 - On 9th  March  the smack “Bristol Packet”, of Newport, was stranded off Penarth but was refloated.
1881 -   March  29th.  The  “Geraldine”,  a  Weymouth  schooner  of  ninety  six  tons,  Plymouth  to  Porteynon  with  fertilizer,  sank  in  Porteynon  Bay.  The  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  in  the  ships  boat  and  the  wreck  was  later  sold  at  auction.
1881 - On 12th  April  the Danish barque “Marmora” was wrecked on the Scarweather Sands off Porthcawl. Eight men were saved by the Porthcawl Lifeboat (Chafyn Grove).
1881  - On 14th October the Genoese barque “ Febo” was driven up Channel by a gale, reaching Penarth Roads in a very poor state, with her fore and main masts broken off near the deck and having lost her anchors. The Penarth lifeboat, Joseph Denman, was launched and put some men on her to rig some temporary sails on a jury mast. She was taken in tow by a steam tug, and she and her crew of fourteen were taken to safety.
1881 – the  famous  iron  paddle  steamer  “Pilot”  was  wrecked  off  the  mouth  of  the  Ogmore  River
1882 - On 29th March  the French steamer “ Liban” sank on the Tusker Sands off Porthcawl. Eight of the crew were saved by the Porthcawl Lifeboat - three lost.
1882 – November  19th.  Oxwich   coastguards  observed  a  vessel  crossing  the  bay  on  a  course  that  would  take  her  perilously  close  to  Pwll  Du  Head.  Warning  signals  were  fired  but  the  vessel  ended  up  ashore  at  Pwll  Du.  The  vessel  was the  Hamburg  registered  “Lamershagen”,  bound  for  Swansea  with  a  cargo  of  pitch,  thence  to  load  coal  for  Valparaiso. The  Master,  his  crew  of  nineteen  and  the  pilot,  who  turned  out  to  be  a  hobbler  came  ashore  in  the  ships  boats.  On  the  following  ebb  tide  the  Master  put  four  hands  aboard  the  vessel  to  protect  the  ships  property  but  the  following  evening  a  gale  blew  and  with  the  vessel  working  on  the  rocks  the  she  broke  in  two.  The  crew  made  the  shore  by  hand  for  handing  it  over  cables  attached  to  the  shore.
1883 - the “Fanny”  of Aberthaw was wrecked off Barry. She had been sailing the Channel for 130 years since she was built at Aberthaw
1883 – January  6th.  The  “Robert  Williams”,  a  Portmadoc  schooner,  Swansea  to  Abersoch  with  coal,  ran  aground  at  Slade  in  dense  fog.  The  crew  abandoned  ship  and  were  picked  up  by  another  vessel  which  landed  them  at  Milford  Haven.
1883 – January  9th.  The  Beaumaris  schooner  “Parry’s  Lodge”,  Amlwch  To  Swansea  with  zinc  ore,  was  wrecked  on  Pwll  Du  Point  in  calm  but  foggy  conditions.  The  Master  was  drowned.
1883 – January  27th.  The  channel  had  been  lashed  by  gales  for  more  than  two  days  accompanied  by  severe  squalls  with  hail  and  rain. The  “Agnes  Jack”, a  Liverpool  steamer,  Cagliari,  Sardinia  for  Llanelli  with   silver  bearing  lead  ore  had  left  Mumbles  Roads  at  about  three a.m.  where  she  had  been  sheltering  while  awaiting  the  tide  Porteynon  farmworkers  were  leaving  for  the  days  work at  about  five  o’clock  in  the  morning  when  they  heard  shouts  and  saw  a  vessel  sunk  off  Porteynon  Point.  At  first  light  eight  men  were  observed  clinging  to  the  mast.  The  Rhossili  and  Oxwich  L.S.A  Companies  attempted  to  get  rockets   aboard  the  vessel  but  the  range  was  too  great.  Eventually  the  mast  came  down  and  all  were  thrown  into  the  sea.  The  weather  conditions  were  so  severe  that  no  one  made  the  shore.  As  a  result  of  this  shipwreck  a  request  was  made  for  a  lifeboat  at  Porteynon  and  a  new  station  was  opened  in  1884.
1883 - On 27th  January  the German barque Amiral Prinz Adalbert (Captain Ludwig Leibaner), on her way from Danzig to Swansea with pitprops was struggling against a storm on the coast of the Gower Peninsular. She had already lost part of her rigging and her crew were near exhaustion.  A pilot was requested to take her into Swansea but no pilot cutter was prepared to risk the storm to get to her. Instead, the Flying Scud, a tug, which was close by offered to take her in for a fee of £500. However, during the tow towards Swansea the cable parted on two occasions and finally the master ordered the anchors to be dropped. One anchor failed to reach the seabed, the other held for a short while and then dragged, the ship drifting towards the shore, eventually hitting the rocks near Mumbles Lighthouse and In the collision the ship lost all three masts.  Meanwhile the tug had gone to advise the Mumbles Lifeboat (Wolverhampton) crew of the disaster. Cox Jenkin Jenkins, although advised not to put to sea, decided to go to the assistance of the barque, and  with great difficulty the lifeboat was launched and proceeded to the stricken vessel. Although the lifeboat crew could not get close enough to throw a line to the ship, someone on board the barque had the presence of mind to throw down a lifebelt with a line attached and a line was eventually secured, the lifeboat put down her anchor, and the first two of the ship's crew of 15 managed to get to the lifeboat. As the third crewman was being pulled aboard the lifeboat was suddenly hit by a huge wave and overturned, throwing the crew into the sea. The boat righted itself and the crew managed to get back aboard, only for the boat to be flung over some submerged rocks. The crew of the lifeboat now tried to swim to the shore, but four were drowned plus the barques carpenter who had been taken off by the lifeboat. The survivors were all severely injured by the time they got to the shore, and the Cox’s son George Jenkins had both his legs crushed. Two lifeboatmen were seen clinging to the wrecked lifeboat. At this time two sisters, Jessie Ace and Mrs Margaret Evans, who had been with their father, Abraham Ace, in the Mumbles lighthouse, came down to the shore to see if they could help, and waded out into the heavy sea up to their shoulders to try to get to the surviving lifeboatmen. Although they could not quite reach. Jessie Ace knotted their shawls together and with the help of a gunner from the nearby fort they used the shawls as a lifeline and pulled the two men to relative safety. Meanwhile the Admiral Prinz Adalbert had survived the waves without breaking up and when the tide ebbed Abraham Ace and his two daughters helped the crew to safety where they were looked after by the people of Mumbles. Subsequently the barque did break up.Four lifeboatmen had died leaving widows and children; the cox had lost two of his sons, James and William,  and his son-in-law, who were members of the crew, and another man was missing and his body was never recovered.  A fund for the widows and orphans raised £3000, Jenkin Jenkins was awarded the RNLI silver medal and £50, the gunner (Hutchings) who had helped the Ace sisters received the thanks of the RNLI on vellum, but the two sisters received no recognition from the RNLI, although they did receive great acclaim in the national  press and postcards were sold with their pictures on them. It is said that Queen Victoria had copies of these cards. The Empress of Germany sent them the Ace sisters the thanks of the country and gave them two silver brooches. The poem "The Women of Mumbles Head !" was written by Clement Scott to commemorate their brave actions.
1883 – January  27th.  The  steamer  “James  Grey”  was  lost  with  all  hands  after  being  driven  onto  the  Tusker  Rock.
1883 – February  7th.  A  weather beaten    black  Labrador  was  found  wondering  through  the  village  of  Overton.  The  dog  was  the  sole  survivor  of  the  Paimpol  schooner  “Surprise”,  bound  for  Swansea  with  a  cargo  of  pitwood. The  vessel  was  found  wrecked  to  the  west  of  Overton  Mere,  with  her  cables  still  trailing.  It  was  assumed  that  she  struck the  Helwick  before  losing  her  anchors.  This  brought  a  total  of  fifty  three  seamen  lost  in  a  fortnight  around  the  Gower  coast  alone.
1883 – February  12th.  The  brigantine  “Reine  des  Fleurs”,  bound  for  her  home  port  of  Cannes  with  coal  from  Swansea,  became  stranded  at  West  Cross  in  a  heavy  gale.  The  crew  were  saved  but  the  vessel  later  broke  up.  The  cargo,  hull  and  store  were  salvaged  and  later  auctioned.
1883 - At midnight on 8th  August  the barque “William Miles”  stranded near Porthcawl harbour and on the next day broke up and sank. The Porthcawl Lifeboat (Chafyn Grove) went out twice in heavy seas rescuing the master's wife and one other on the first trip and the master and the remaining ten crew on the second.
1883 – November  29th.  After   leaving  Swansea,  the    locally  built  barque  “Lord  Marmino”  was  proceeding  down  channel  when  one   of  the  seamen,  who  had  joined  the  vessel  in  a  drunken  condition,  started  causing  trouble.  The  Master  put  back  for  the  Mumbles  and  put  the  errant  mariner  ashore.  A  replacement  was  sent  for  and  on  his  joining,  the  vessel  proceeded  down  channel.  When  the  vessel  was  about  five  miles  south  of  Oxwich,  some  steaming  lights  were  observed. The  watches  change  at  midnight  and  shortly  after  the  vessel  was  in  collision  with  the  steamship  “James  Bacon”,  of  Liverpool,  bound  from  Bristol  to  Milford.  The  steamer  cut  right  into  the  barque  which  sank  in  three  minutes,  drowning  the  Master.  The  nine  survivors  had  taken  to  the  ships  boats  and  were  safely  towed  to  the  Mumbles.
1883 – The  St  Malo  schooner  “Vauban”,  Bordeaux   for  Cardiff  with  pit  props,  ran  ashore  under  Pennard  cliffs  in  thick  weather.  The  vessel  was  wrecked  but  the  crew  got  ashore  safely.
1884 - On 27th  January  the Spanish brigantine “Juan de la Vega”, bound for Cardiff with pit props, got into difficulties off Penarth. With the aid of a tug, some hobblers and lifeboatmen from the Penarth lifeboat (Joseph Denman II) in repairing the rigging and pumping, she was taken into Cardiff.
1884 -   February  12th.The  Norwegian  barque  “Samuel”,  Cardiff  to  Santos  with  coal,  ran  aground  just  east  of  Worms  Head.  The  crew  were  saved.  A  rough  road  was   built  and  the  cargo  was  eventually  brought  ashore   and  sold. The  vessel  was  wrecked.
1884 – The”Welsh Prince” (Captain William Rowe), 118-ton steamer, left Bristol on 22nd  September  with 42 passengers for a pleasure trip to Weston-super-Mare, Somerset. The day-trippers were to be back aboard the boat by 6pm on the same day and she was in the process of casting off, under the eyes of a large number of holidaymakers, when the last mooring rope wound itself around the propeller and in a heavy wind the small vessel was driven into Sandy Bay where the crew tried in
vain to free her propeller. Captain Rowe dropped anchor as the boat was quite near the shore and raised distress signals. This brought out the lifeboatmen and the William James Holt, the Weston Lifeboat, was launched from the pier. Whilst the lifeboat was in the process of being launched the Welsh Prince began dragging her anchors and frightened passengers had to be restrained from "jumping for it" into the sea. Within 15 minutes the lifeboat had reached the vessel and 20 passengers were taken off, not without some difficulty, followed by a return journey by the
lifeboat to take off the remaining passengers. All passengers were saved without injury.  The actions of the Lifeboat crew were widely acclaimed and it was reported that "A great tragedy had been averted by the speed and bravery of their actions"
This was the first real-life action, which the Weston lifeboat had been involved in, the station having only been established two years previously by the gift of Colonel Holt of Bangor, after whom she was named. As for the Welsh Prince, she was left stranded on the sands when the tide went out, the rope was removed from the propeller, and she was refloated on the next tide with little damage and went
on plying the Channel as a passenger boat and later as a collier until 1930.
1885 – The  pilot  vessel  “J.W.J.”    was  run  down  near  the  Greengrounds  by  the  steamer  “Sea  Fisher”  Barrow  to  Swansea  with  steel   plates. The  two  pilots  and  two  hobblers  managed  to  get  aboard  the  steamer.  The pilot  boat  was  taken  in  tow  but  quickly  sank.
1886 - January  8th.  The  barque  “Rene”,  of  Nantes,  Cardiff  for  Arcachon  with  coal,  struck  heavily  on  the  Helwick  . the  vessel  was  driven  ashore  at  Overton  and  quickly  broke  up.  Five  crew  members  managed  to  get  ashore  but  the  Master,  two  seamen  and  a  fifteen  year  old  boy  were  drowned.  They  are  buried  at  Danygraig  cemetery.
1886 – February.  The  “Hope”,  of  Newport,  bound  from  her  homeport  to  New  Ross,  Co.  Wexford  with  a  cargo  of  coal  was  observed  aground  inside  Port  Eynon  Point.  The  crew  rowed  ashore  safely.  The  vessel  was  eventually  repaired  and  refloated.
1886 – March  6th.  The  Aberystwyth  brig  “Xanthippe”,  Jamaica  to  Port  Talbot  with  phosphate  rock,  ran  aground  on  the  west  side  of  Oxwich  Point   in  thick  fog. The  crew  abandoned  ship  and  got  ashore  in  the  boats.  When   the  tide  ebbed,  the  vessel  heeled  over  and  her  yards  struck  the   rocks,  where  she  became  a  total  loss.
1886 - On 8th  October  the steamship “Agnes”, of Hartlepool, was driven ashore in Caswell Bay near Swansea and broke up. No lives were lost however.
1886 -  On 14th  October  the iron sailing ship “ Malleny”, of Liverpool, left Cardiff for Rio de Janiero with coal. She was towed as far as Lundy Island but after the tug had left the weather worsened and the captain decided to shelter in Swansea Bay. However as she sailed in heavy seas across the bay her rudder was lost and she drifted towards the coast. Although she was sighted in the bay the high winds had taken down the telegraph lines and it was impossible to alert the Porthcawl Lifeboat. She struck the Tusker Rock off Porthcawl and all 20 crew were lost, the ship finally going ashore across the Channel at Westward Ho !Edwin Waters, the ships carpenter on the Malleny, had been paid off in Amsterdam, unknown to his
family in Appledore and, thinking he had gone down with the others,  were in mourning for him when he arrived home !
1886  - On 15th  October the Swansea barque “ Ocean Beauty”, bound for Valparaiso, took shelter in Mumbles Roads in the severe storms of that day. Her cables parted, however, and she drifted across Swansea Bay onto Aberavon Sands. The Mumbles lifeboat (Wolverhampton II)  was launched, but could not get close enough. The crew took to the rigging and fortunately, when the tide receded without the ship breaking up, one of the crew threw an empty oil drum overboard with a line attached. This floated toward the shore sufficiently for some pilots on the beach to haul it in, and 13 crew members were able to pull themselves to safety hand over hand. Unfortunately the master and the pilot aboard the barque were drowned when they were washed overboard.
1886  - On 15th  October the “ Ben-y-Gloe” (Captain Gill), a large ship sailing from Singapore to Penarth, heeled over in a gale near Nash Point and subsequently grounded on Nash Sands. The crew had managed to survive by clinging to the rigging and got onto the sands and eventually to the shore. They were in a very poor condition having lost much of their clothing, ripped off by the gale. They struggled inland to the village of Marcross and knocked on the door of the Inn where the Innkeeper refused to give them any food or drink because they had no money, although he did let them rest in an unheated storeroom ! When Captain Gill arrived at the Inn some time after his crew he ordered the Innkeeper to serve his men and grudgingly and only after assurance that payment would eventually be made they were served with food and drinks. Meanwhile the robbers had been at work on the remains of the ship and the crew's belongings had been stolen. Few of the missing items were ever recovered by the police. The South Wales newspapers said that the
actions of the Innkeeper and the looters had "besmirched the reputation and honour of all Welsh people"
1886 – November  20th. The  London  schooner  “Thames”,  Port  Talbot  for  Bilbao  with  general  cargo,  struck  the  Scarweather  in  thick  fog.  The  vessel  drifted  northwards  and  foundered  off  Mumbles  Head.  The  crew  got  ashore  safely.
1887 - On 16th  January  the Italian barque “Caterina”, was wrecked in a Force 9 gale on Nash Sands off Porthcawl, after leaving Cardiff with coal. Her crew of twelve and the pilot were all lost.
1887 – January  18th. The  sloop  “Argus”,  Lannion  to  Cardiff  with  potatoes,  was  driven   ashore  at  Llangennith  during  a  southerly  gale.  The  vessel  became  a  total  loss.  The  Master  was  severely  injured  but the  crew  managed  to  get  ashore.  The  vessel  was  wrecked.
1887  - On 26th  January the  “Ribble”, of Whitehaven was in collision with the Coniston Fell of Liverpool, off Mumbles Head. The Coniston Fell beached , but the Ribble sunk so that only her mast was above water. Fortunately the Captain and three crew were able to cling to the rigging and were saved by the Mumbles Lifeboat, Wolverhampton II. Two men from the Ribble drowned when the boat they had launched from her was swamped. One of those in the boat was saved by a shore
boat.
1887 - March  - SS “City of Exeter” lost off Lundy. 16 lost out of total crew of 19.

1887 – March  22nd.  This  was  the  first  service  launch  of  the  Porteynon  lifeboat,  when  a  brig  was  seen  to  be  stranded  on  Oxwich  Point.  The  lifeboat  arrived  at  the  scene  to  find  that  the  crew  of  the  “Prophete  Elie”,  of  Nantes,  had  safely  got  ashore.
1887 – May  7th.  The   Glasgow  steamer  “Ashdale” ,  France  to  Mumbles  for  orders  ran  ashore  at  Porteynon  Point  in  thick  fog.  The  vessel  lost  her  rudder  and  stern  post  and  was  later  towed  to  Swansea  by  the  tug  “Challenger”
1887 – November  1st.  The  Norwegian  barque  “Helvetia”,  Campeltown,  New  Brunswick  for  Swansea  with  deals  had  arrived  at  the  Mumbles  the  night  of  the  31st.  A  fresh  south-easterly  breeze  sprang  up  and  the  Master decided  to  stand  down  channel. When  the  vessel  was  abeam  of  the  Helwick  the  wind  freshened  to  a  south-westerly  gale.  By  now  the  barque  was  labouring  heavily  and  being  driven  nearer  to  a  lee  shore.  She  drifted  over  the  Helwick  Bank,  losing   some  of  her  deck  cargo.  She  was  then  run  in  around  the  Worm  into  Rhossili  Bay  to  anchor.  At  low  water  the  barque  struck  the  bottom  very  heavily  and  the  local  L.S.A.  team  were  called  out.  On  crew  member  was  brought  ashore  by  Breeches  Buoy,  and  the  rest  got  ashore  in  the  ships  boats  on  the  next  making  tide.  The  vessel  appeared  to  be  riding  well  to  her  cables  until  the  wind  went  around  to  the  west.  She  parted  her  anchor  cables  and  was  driven  onto  the  beach  where  her  remains  lay   to  this  day.  About  five  hundred  tons  of  timber  was  salvaged  and  the  vessel  stripped  of  everything  that  was  saleable.
1888 - On 13th  January  the Hull steamship  “Milan” on its way to Bristol from Alexandria was driven ashore near Overton Cliffs in the Gower in dense fog. She soon began to break up on the rocks. The Port Eynon Lifeboat rescued 11 men and the remaining crew were rescued by the use of the Coastguard Rocket Apparatus.
1888 –May  8th.  The  Padstow  brigantine  “Henry  Edmunds”,  bound  for  Swansea  in  ballast,  was  wrecked  at  the  foot  of  Overton  Cliffs.  The  crew  survived.
1890 - On 23rd  January  the square-rigger  “Cambrian Duchess” of Liverpool on a voyage from Liverpool to Iquique, Chile, was beaten back by heavy weather and sought refuge in Mumbles Roads. She dropped anchor but it dragged in soft ground and she drifted into the Swansea owned (Aberdeen registered) barque Ambassador, causing severe damage to both ships. The Cambrian Duchess was towed to Swansea by a tug but drove into the dock wall. Four lifeboatmen from Swansea were put
aboard the Ambassador to help to get her into Swansea. However on arrival she was declared  to be beyond  economic repair. The Cambrian Duchess was repaired and sailed on but later sunk in the South Atlantic.
1890 - On 26th  January  the barque  “Ashlowe”, of New Brunswick went aground when her cable parted off Mumbles Head but subsequently refloated, only to run aground again near the Lifeboat Station. Her master decided to abandon ship and the crew of eleven were taken off by the Mumbles Lifeboat.
1890 – March  28th.  The  steamer  “Benamain”,  of  London,  Swansea  for  Le  Treport  with general  cargo,  stranded  on  the  east  side  of  Lundy  in  thick  fog.  She  refloated  the  next  morning  and  while  returning  to  Swansea  foundered  seven  miles  off  the  Mumbles.  The  crew  of  twelve  were  rescued  by  the  pilot  cutter  “Rival”  and  safely  landed  at  Swansea.
1890 - In December  the “Uppingham”, on a voyage from Cardiff to China, struck rocks at Long Peak near Hartland Point, Devon, and 18 of the 28 crew died.1891 – The  Cork  brigantine  “Sarsfield”,,  bound  for  Newport  in  ballast,  entered  thick  fog  banks  in  the  early  hours.  No  lights  were  visible  and  when  the  fog  lifted,  a  headland  was  sighted  and  it  was  thought  to   be  Hartland  Point. It  was  in  fact  Worms  Head,  and  the  vessel  was  soon  ashore  north  of  Diles  Lake  on  Rhossili  beach.  The  Master,  his  wife  and  the  crew  of  five  managed  to  get  ashore  and  they  were  later  able  to  salvage  some  of  their  possessions  but  the  vessel  became  a  wreck.
1891 – March  1st.  The  Le  Havre  brigantine  “H.L.C”,  Port  Talbot  to  Pornic  with  coal,  grounded  on  the  Mixon  in  thick  fog.  The  crew  got  ashore  safely  but  the  vessel  broke  up  on  the  next  tide.
1891  - On 10th  December the large four master  “Drumblair”, left Barry for Mauritius with a cargo of coke and railway materials, but because of a severe gale, waited in Barry Roads. The severity of the gale, however, caused her to drag her anchors and landed up stranded on Sully Island. A steam tug tried to connect with her but was unsuccessful and eventually towed the Penarth lifeboat (Joseph Denman II) to Sully. Some of the ship's crew had been able to get off in the ship's boat but the remaining 15 and the captain were taken off by the lifeboat. The ship did survive, however, and was salved.
1891 – December  23rd.  The brig  “Felicete”,  of  Vannes,  bound  from  Nantes  to  Swansea  with  pit  props,  ran  aground  on Oxwich  Point.  Porteynon  lifeboat  was  launched  but  on  its  arrival  the  crew  had  managed  to  get  ashore.  The  vessel  became  a  total  loss.
1892 - February  -The  French ship  “Tunisie” went ashore on Lundy in  a  severe gale, snow storm and heavy seas. The Lighthouse keeper and seven others saved all 21 crew.
1893 – November  16th.  The  Milford  ketch  “Favourite”,  became  disabled  in  a  heavy  gale.  The  next  day she  had  drifted  to  a  point  three  miles  off  Worms  Head  where  the  Mate  left  the  vessel  and  rowed  up  the  coast.  The  Porteynon  lifeboat  was  launched  and  brought  him  ashore.  The  Master  and  a  seaman  were  brought  off  the  vessel  just  before  she  foundered
1893 - On 13th  December  the Norwegian barque  “Althea”, went aground in Oxwich Bay. Gower, in a severe gale. The weather was so bad that when the Port Eynon Lifeboat was launched she was immediately driven broadside onto the beach. People on shore, however, managed to manhandle her so that her bow was facing out to sea and then pushed her out, assisting the oarsmen to get her to sea again. It then took an hour and a half to reach Oxwich Bay, by which time the Althea was a total wreck, all her crew of 10 being crowded into one ship's boat. They all managed to get aboard the lifeboat and were saved.
1894  - On 22nd  March the schooner “ Glenravil Miner”  of Barrow became stranded at Overton, Gower. Her crew of three took to the ship's boat and were picked up by a passing schooner and subsequently transferred to the Port Eynon Lifeboat. The Glenravil Miner then sunk becoming a total wreck.
1894 – October  24th. The  barque  “Vennerne”,  of  Sonderho,  Denmark,  whilst  on  passage  from  Aberdovey  to  Swansea  in  ballast,  sought  shelter  inside  the Worm.  After  spending  hours  straining  at  the  cables,  she  eventually  parted  and  drove  onto the  beach  under  the  cliffs. Although the  coastguards  were  quickly  on  the  scene  with  rocket  apparatus,  the  Master,  his  wife  and  child  and  the  seven  other  crew  members,  abandoned  in  the  boat  and  eventually  got  ashore  safely.  The  following  day  the  tug  “Privateer”  failed  to  get  the  vessel  off  the  beach  and  it  became a  wreck.
1895 – April  20th.  While  boarding a  pilot  in  Mumbles  Roads,  the crew  of  the pilot  vessel  “Mary”  heard a  loud  crash  to  the  west.  The  pilot  boat  proceeded  to  the  vicinity  and  discovered the  four  hundred  ton  Glasgow  steamer  “Severn”  cruising  around.  The  tug master  was  told  that  the  steamer  had  collided  with  a  tug , which  rapidly  sank  with  all  hands.  It  transpired  that  it  was  the  local  tug  “Wasp”,  which  sank  with  the  loss  of  her  crew  of  three  and  the  friend  of  one  of  the  crew  members.  The  tugs  regular  Master  was  on  leave  at the  time  of  the  fatal  collision.  The  wreck  was  later  raised  and  beached  in  front  of  the  George  Hotel.
1895 – October  1st.  The  Llanelli  and  Burry  Port  pilot  cutters  “Smiling  Morn”  and   “Maria”  were  both  anchored  inside  the  Worm  when  a  westerly  gale  blew  up.  Both  vessels  dragged  their  anchors  and  the  “Smiling  Morn”  drove  across  the  “Marias”  bows.  The  vessels  collided  and  both  quickly  sank  with  the  crews  abandoning  and  getting  ashore  safely.
1895 – October  4th.  A  vessel  was  seen  aground  on  the  Mixon  and  the two wives of the lighthouse keepers at the Mumbles raised the alarm.  The  lifeboat  was  launched  and  towed  to  scene  by  the  tug  “Privateer”.  The  vessel  had  struck  the  western  end  of  the  shoal  and  was  quickly  engulfed  by  huge  seas.  Wreckage  was  plentiful  but  there  was  no  sign  of  any  survivors.  A  body was  washed  ashore  a  few  days  later  and  was  identified  as  that  of  the  Master  of  the  Waterford  brigantine “ Zoe”,  which  had   been  bound  for  Swansea  with  a  cargo  of  pitch  from  Liverpool.
1895 – 2nd  October  - The  “Llanisley”, a schooner, foundered in a storm off Lundy. Crew of four took to the ship's boat and made for Ilfracombe but the boat capsized and all were lost.
1897  - On 2nd  February the master of the Hull steamship  “ Imbros”,Black  Sea  to  Swansea,  lost his bearings in dense fog and the ship became grounded near the East Helwick Buoy. Her hull became twisted and her engines damaged. The Port Eynon Lifeboat went to assess the situation and called for tugs to tow her into port.  However the tide lifted the ship over the bank and she was able to anchor, a passing coastal steamer then took her in tow and, accompanied by the lifeboat, the Imbros was beached at Mumbles.
1897 - On 7th  April  in a moderate wind the schooner “James and Agnes”, of Lancaster, beached at Black Rock Bay near Porthcawl, having already bumped over the Scarweather Sands and done considerable damage. Three of the crew escaped in the ship's boat but the Porthcawl lifeboat (Speedwell) went to the rescue of the master and mate who had remained aboard.
1898 – A  two  thousand  ton   steamer,  the  “Marshall  Keith”,  Dieppe  for  Llanelli  ran  aground  on  a  sandbank  opposite  Broughton  Bay.  She  refloated  on  the  next  flood  tide.
1898 - In December  the tug  “Saxon” stranded on Frenchman's Bank off Swansea when a cable got caught in her propeller. The crew were taken off by the Mumbles Lifeboat.
1899 - On the evening of 12th  January  the Rev Hockley, secretary of the Lynmouth Lifeboat (Louisa), received a telegram from the owner of the Anchor Hotel at Porlock, Somerset, reporting that there was a large sailing vessel in the bay that seemed to be in difficulties. There was a very savage storm underway, with very heavy seas lashing the coast. The Lynmouth cox, Jack Crocombe, and his crew decided that they could not launch from Lynmouth and would have to take the
lifeboat to Porlock, a distance of 12 miles over very difficult terrain, to launch it. Anyone knowing Lynmouth and Porlock would realise that this was going to entail hauling the boat up the very steep hill out of Lynmouth, along the cliffs, and then down the one in four gradient into Porlock ! The weight of the boat was around three and a half tons ! and the weather conditions were terrible. Sixteen horses were provided to pull the carriage and men had to go out ahead to dig out the banks on the roadside to enable the carriage to pass. The journey started at about 8pm and most of the residents of Lynmouth joined in helping to get the boat on its carriage up Lynmouth Hill. At the top of the hill one of the carriage wheels came off and had to be replaced. The weather was now so bad that most of the helpers, other than the crew, turned back once the hilltop had been reached. Further along they had to remove a section of stone wall which was hindering the passage of the carriage. At County Gates the boat had to be removed from the carriage and placed on skids as the carriage was too wide to go through the lane, whilst the carriage was taken across fields to meet the lifeboat further on. From there the men needed all their remaining strength to hold back the carriage descending Porlock Hill. On arrival at Porlock they found that the sea wall had been washed away and they had to take a detour to get to the beach. They finally reached the sea at about 6am on the 13 January. Refusing to stop to eat they immediately set about launching the boat. The 8-oared lifeboat was then rowed into the gale to reach the struggling Forrest Hall (Captain James Aliss) , a 1900-ton Liverpool barque on its way from Belfast home. She had been under tow but the line had parted and the rudder had been taken off in the storm. She had dropped anchor in the hope of riding out the storm but had sent out distress signals as a precaution. The Captain was advised by the Lifeboat cox to wait until daylight when it was hoped to get a line to the ship. At dawn the tug John Joliffe from Liverpool arrived. The lifeboat crew got a line from the tug on board the Forrest Hall and the
tug started for Barry Docks, with the Lifeboat in attendance in case it was needed. The Forrest Hall began to drift towards Nash Sands but fortunately another Liverpool tug, the Sarah Joliffe, was at hand and the two tugs took her into Barry at 6pm on 13th  January. The Lifeboat also landed at Barry where they were royally received at a hotel and tended by the Shipwrecked Mariners Society. The following day the Lifeboat returned to Lynmouth. 
1899 – July  5th.  The  Cardigan  ketch  “Three  Sisters”  had  sailed  from  Port  Talbot  on  the  morning  tide  bound  for  Llangranog  with a  cargo  of  coal.  The vessel  had  put  into  the  Mumbles  to  await  the  ebb  tide  and  got  under  way  at  3-30p.m.  As  the  vessel  made  her  way  down  channel  the  weather  became  thick  and  a  decision  was  taken  to  put  back  for  the  Mumbles.  Off  the  Greengrounds  buoy  the  fog  became  very  thick  and  the  vessel  was  in  collision  with  the  steamer  “Tweed”,  Swansea  for  the   Clyde.  The  ketch  was  cut  in  two  and  the  Master  was  trapped  between  the  tiller  and  the  gunwale.  The  Master  just  managed  to  free  himself  as  the  vessel  went  down  and  a boat from the steamer picked him up. The  two  other  crew  members,  one  of  who  was  the  Master’s  sixteen-year-old  son  were drowned.
1899 – November  11th.  The  Norwegian  barque  “Duisberg”  Parrsboro,  Nova  Scotia  for  the  Mumbles  for  orders,  with  timber,  became  stranded  on  Oxwich  Point.  According  to  the  crew  the  vessel  had  been  leaking  badly  for  a  few  weeks.  The  Porteynon  lifeboat  arrived  at  the  scene  they  found  that  the  vessels  fore  and  main  masts  were  gone  and  the  crew  had  got  ashore  safely.  The  crew  managed  to  get  aboard  the  vessel  on  the  next  low  water  and  retrieved  their  possessions.  The   cargo  of  timber  was  later  salvaged  but  the  vessel  was  a  total  loss.
1900 -   the  “Welbury”, from Cardiff struck the rocks at Long Peak near Hartland, Devon. The second officer had been one of the survivors from the wreck of the Uppingham on the same rocks in 1890.
1900 – February  25th.  The  steamship  “Ethiopia”,  Hamburg  for  Port  Talbot  in  ballast,  became  stranded  on  Oxwich  Point. Local  tugs  failed  to  refloat  the  vessel  and  the following  Tuesday  the  Liverpool  salvage   vessel  “Ranger”  arrived  and   after  a  days  work  the  “Ethiopia”  was  refloated  and  towed  to  Port  Talbot  for  repairs.  No  lives  were  lost.
1900 – May  17th.  The  steam  collier  “St.  Vincent”  ran  aground  on  Dangers  Reef  at  Rhossili  and  successfully  refloated  herself.
1900 – June  15th.   The  sixty-seven  ton  iron  screw  steamer  “Tivyside”,  Carmarthen  for  Bristol  in  ballast,  became  stranded  on  Overton  in  thick  fog.  The  crew  of  six  and  the  seven  passengers  aboard  got  ashore  by  ships  boat.
1900 – November.  The  barque  “Agot” ,  in  ballast,  was  driven  ashore  on  Whitford  Sands.  The  crew  were  taken  off  by  the  Llanelli  pilot  boat  and  a  pilot  was  left  on  board  to  guard  the  vessel  from  looters. The  pilot  found  the  ships  spirits  and  when  the  Master  returned  to  the  “Agot”  the  pilot  was  so  drunk  that  he  fell  from  the  vessel  onto  the  sands  and  was  unconscious.  The  vessel   also  ended  up  a  total  wreck.
1900 - On 28th  December  the Italian barque  “Zefiro”, collided with the ship “King's County”, of Windsor, Nova Scotia, near the English and Welsh Grounds light vessel. She eventually went ashore near Clevedon, Somerset. On the same day the Pegasus, of Liverpool, bound from San Francisco to Sharpness, Glos., was
driven ashore near Lavernock Point and four of her crew were washed overboard. She was refloated on the next tide and was taken on to Sharpness for repair.
1901  - On 2nd  February the schooner “ Goonlaze” (Captain Thomas Haddock), of Hayle, Cornwall, left Bristol. She is thought to have tried to shelter from the weather in Barnstaple Bay, but was presumably driven onto the rocks. The wreck was not discovered until some days later when, as a result of finding the body of a seaman in a field near Peppercombe, the Coastguards made a search of the area and found the wreckage under the cliffs. Three bodies were eventually recovered.
1901 - On 7th  November  in a thick fog the Norwegian full-rigged ship “Elfi” became stranded near Nash Point. The Porthcawl lifeboat went out to her but she was found not to be seriously damaged. A lifeboat man was put aboard as a pilot and the lifeboat stood by until a tug arrived and towed her to Bristol.
1903 – On  1st  February  the Mumbles Lifeboat,  “James Stevens”,  No 12, went the assistance of the steamship  “Christina”,  of Waterford. However, as she was in no danger the lifeboat made for Port Talbot. The conditions at the bar to the River Avon were rough and the lifeboat was capsized by a huge wave. She righted herself immediately but was then hit again and went out of control. Six of her crew were washed away and she was thrown into the breakwater. The Dock Gateman at Port
Talbot called for help Captain Humphrey Jones, the Harbour Master, and seven other men rushed to her. Captain Jones saved one man and was then lowered down the side of the breakwater on a rope. As he was about to save another man a wave washed them both away and he lost his grip on the rope.  The six lifeboatmen lost were, Cox Thomas Rogers, 2nd Cox Daniel Claypit, Robert Smith, George Michael, David John Morgan and James Gammon. Eight lifeboatmen managed to escape the disaster, including Thomas Michael and three of the Gammon family. The lost lifeboatmen left 38 children fatherless and a fund was started for their dependants.
1903 – September  10th.  During  a  severe  westerly  gale,  the  schooner  “Glenfeadon”  parted  her  cables  while  anchored  at  the  Mumbles  and  was  driven  ashore  near  the  lifeboat  house.  She  was  refloated  the  following  day  by  the  tug  “Falcon”.  After  the  storm,  the  beach  at  Rhossili  was  littered  with  wreckage,  including  the  stern  of  the  “J.K.  Allport”  of  Plymouth.  A  fortnight  later  bodies  were  washed  ashore  at  Swansea,  Porteynon  and  Three  Cliffs.  It  was  later  discovered  that  the  vessel  was  the  S.S. “Ierne”,  which  had  sailed  from  Newport  on  September  10th.  With  a cargo  of  coal  for  Dublin.  It  was  assumed  that  the  vessel  had  foundered  off  the   Gower  coast.
1905 - On 10th  February  the French ketch, “ Notre Dame de Paris”  was reported in distress off Oxwich Point, Gower, and the Mumbles Lifeboat, Charlie Medland, went to her aid. She was found to have shipped a lot of water and her sails had been blown away. Her crew were exhausted and her master asked for men to board her and try to save her. After three quarters of an hour four lifeboat men got aboard and managed to free her anchors which had been fouled by an underwater obstruction, and a tug was able to tow her to Swansea.
1905 – April  12th.  The  ketch  “Bristol  Packet”,  having  discharged  part  of  her  cargo  of  fertiliser  onto  the  beach  at  Porteynon,  was  scheduled  to  sail  the  short  distance  to  Oxwich,  when  a  gale  sprung  up  and  drove  her  ashore  where  she  was  wrecked.
1906 – April  12th.  The  Swansea  tug  “Indefatigable”  ran  onto  the  rock   shelf  below  Whiteshell  Point  in  thick  fog.  The  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  at  low  water  and  hopes  were  held  high  to  refloat  the  vessel.  Unfortunately,  the  vessels  port  bow  was  holed  two  days  later  and  the  vessel  was  eventually  abandoned.
1906  - On 30th  May  HMS “ Montagu”, a Hunter Class Battleship (14000 tons) struck Great Shutter Rock off Lundy in a thick fog. She was badly holed and listing to starboard and had lost her propellers. The Admiralty immediately sent four battleships and a cruiser and two Liverpool salvage tugs to try to save the ship. Work started on removing equipment in order to lighten the ship in the hope of re-floating her. However this was to little avail and by August she was still stuck and
was finally written off as a total wreck. In 1907 she was sold for salvage but it took a further 15 years to remove her completely during which she was a regularly visited attraction for the pleasure steamers of the Bristol Channel.
The Captain and Navigating Officer of the “Montagu” were court marshalled and severely reprimanded and dismissed their vessel.
1906 – December  21st.  The  ketch  “Tilley”,  of  Gloucester,  Falmouth  to  Sharpness  with  granite,  sprang  a  leak.  The    Master,  his  son  and  a  seaman  abandoned  ship  and  were  later  picked  up  by  the  steamship  “Ragusa2  and  landed  at  Swansea.  The  vessel  went  down  a  mile  and  a  half  off  the  Helwick.
1907 – January  19th.  The  brigantine  “Marie  Therese”,  Arcachon  to  Swansea  with  pitwood,  struck  on  the  western  end  of  the  Helwick  during  thick  fog.  The  crew  of  eight  abandoned  when  the  vessel  started  sinking  and  rowed  to  Tenby.
1907 – June  10th. During  heavy  wind  and  rain  a  small  boat  was  observed  in  the  entrance  channel  to  Swansea  Docks.  The  occupants  of  this  boat  were  the   Master  and  his  wife,  three  crew  members  and  a  boy,  belonging  to  the  schooner  “Bougainville”,  of  Lannion.  Their  ship  had  sailed  from  Swansea  on  June  7th.  With  a  cargo  of  Patent  Fuel.  Sixty  miles  south  west  of  Lundy  the  vessel  sprang  a  serious  leak  and  despite  vigorous  pumping,  the  vessel  was  driven  back  up  channel.  The  crew  abandoned  ship  four  miles  off  Oxwich  Point  and  the  vessel  went  down  about  twenty  minutes  later.
1907  - On 16th  June the small Penarth yacht “Firefly”, was sailing off Lavernock Point when she capsized and threw her three crew into the water. A man on shore saw what happened and telephoned to Penarth for assistance. He then cycled to Sully House where a well known local yachtsman Daniel Rees lived. Rees put out immediately in a six foot dinghy in a moderate gale. He managed to get to the men who had gone overboard and got two of them aboard. He could not take on the third man because that would have sunk his dinghy, so he had to be left clinging to the gunwale of the yacht. Meanwhile Daniel Rees' brother Ivor and nephew Morgan ran to the beach to try to find another boat. The only one they could find was a small sailing yacht moored off-shore so Ivor Rees swam out to her whilst Morgan Rees ran back to the house to get some sails. They managed to rig the sails and sailed the four miles to the upturned yacht where they rescued the third man of the crew. Daniel Rees was awarded the gold medal of the RNLI, Ivor Rees the silver medal and Morgan Rees the RNLI Record of Thanks inscribed on vellum (as the bronze medal had not then been instituted)
1907 – November  22nd.  The  Aberystwyth  ketch  “Jane”,  Aberaeron  to  Port  Talbot  in  ballast,  was  driven  into  Pwll  Du  Bay  during  a  southerly  gale.  The  crew,  consisting  of  the  Master  and  Mate  got  ashore  safely  but  the  vessel  was  wrecked.
1907 - On 26th  December  the Captain's wife and crew of five of the Cardigan schooner  “John Ewing”, were brought ashore by the Mumbles Lifeboat after the schooner's cargo had shifted . The next day the weather was calmer and the schooner was towed into Swansea.
1908 - At 9pm on 29th  August  the “ Verajean”, (Captain Ritchie) , built Dumbarton, Scotland, 1891 (1933 tons, 3 masted all-steel sailing ship) carrying 3000 tons of patent fuel for Chile left the Roath Dock, Cardiff in charge of the tugs Lady Morgan and Salvor. The  weather had not been good when the ship left the dock, but the wind now increased to force 8 to 9 and the Captain decided to wait in Barry Roads until morning. The following morning the ship set off down the Bristol
Channel still in charge of the two tugs. It took until the following day to reach Lundy Island where the tugs left her. (There was later a dispute about whether the tugs should have left her at Lundy). Because the weather was worsening the Captain decided to make back up Channel to Barry Roads. The ship got to the entrance to the Roads but the depth of water was misjudged and the anchors which were dropped with the expectation of hitting the seabed did not do so and the
ship was left at the mercy of the storm which continued to worsen. The Captain then gave the order to abandon ship and within minutes of the crew leaving the ship she hit the rocks at Rhoose Point and settled about 200 yards off the coast. The Captain and all crew were saved. The storm which had caused the ship to be abandoned was "The Great Hurricane of 1908" which caused severe damage all along the South Wales coast. The Verajean was eventually towed to Barry Docks
but was so badly damaged that she was scrapped. There was a Board of Trade Enquiry in November 1908 which exonerated the Captain and the two tug masters.
1908 - On the 31st  August  the ketch “Trebiskin”, of Padstow, Cornwall, became stranded on Cardiff Grounds and the Barry lifeboat (John Wesley) was launched but a change in the wind allowed the three man crew of the Trebiskin to refloat her.
1908 – On 1st  September  the Helwick Lightship, which marked the dangerous sands west of Port Eynon Head near Swansea, was severely damaged by a storm and close to sinking. The passing ship Lawrenny Castle saw her distress signals and on arrival at Swansea a report was telegraphed to the Tenby Lifeboat which was more likely than the Mumbles boat to be able to assist. The Tenby Lifeboat (William and Mary Devey) put out to try to rescue the lightship crew, which in severe conditions they managed to do. They then rowed to Swansea despite the fact that the crew were near exhaustion and some suffering from exposure after seven hours at sea in terrible conditions.
1908  - On 1st  September the “Amazon”, of Greenock, a four master, on a voyage from Port Talbot to Iquique, Chile, with a cargo of coal, was driven eight miles across Swansea Bay when her anchors dragged and her cables parted in severe weather, and she eventually became stranded west of Port Talbot. The crew lashed themselves to the bulwarks and to the masts, but three of the masts were lost, and then the Main mast broke free too with 20 men lashed to it. Only six of these 20 men survived, and that by the bravery of some local men who waded into the water and pulled them ashore. Eventually, after many, many attempts, a line was got aboard by means of the Coastguard Rocket Apparatus, and two men who remained on board were saved. In all 20 crew members were drowned including Captain Garrick of Penarth. The wreck subsequently broke up.
The  Amazon  public  house  in  Port  Talbot  is  named  after  the  vessel.
1910 – April  15th.  The  ketch  “Notre  Dame  de  Lourdes”,  bound  for  Llanelli  with  a  cargo  of  pit  props,  was  driven  ashore  on  Rhossili  beach,  just  south  of  Burry  Holms.  The  crew  made  the  shore  safely.  After  a  few  tides  the  vessel  broke  her  back.
1910 – October  19th.  The  Arklow  owned  schooner,   “James  &  Agnes”,  Swansea  for  Cowes,  I.O.W.  with  220  tons  of  anthracite,  sailed  on  the  morning  tide.  A  gale  blew  up  in  the  evening  and  the  vessel  was  sighted  by  another  Arklow  owned  schooner,  the  “Venedocian”,  as  she  passed  to  the   east  of  Lundy.  The  “James  & Agnes  was  never  seen  again  and  a  Board  of   Trade  enquiry  concluded  that  she  must  have  been  run  down  by  an  unknown  steamer  in  the  vicinity  of  Lundy  Island. .The  crew  consisted  of  Captain  Horan  and  four  other  Arklow  men.1911 –January   29th. The  Fowey  schooner  “Wiln”,  Devonport  for  Llanelli  with  scrap  arrived   off  the  Burry  Estuary  some  time  before  there  was  enough  water  to  permit  her  passage  through  the  banks.  The  Master  decided  to  stand  off  and  later  that  evening  the  vessel  was  in  collision  with  the  Liverpool  steamer  “Irena”,  Briton  Ferry  to  Dublin  with  coal.  The  steamer  launched  her  boat  and  saved  three  of  the  schooners  crew,  one  of  whom  died  later  from  exposure.  The  Master  and  two  others  went  down  with  the  vessel.
1911 – October  30th.  During   a  severe  gale ,  signals  were  sent  up  by  the  Helwick  light-vessel.  Both  the  Mumbles  and  Tenby  lifeboats  were  launched  and  reached  the  lightship  about  6.p.m.  and  were  told  that  about  three  o’clock  a  schooner  was   seen  to  founder  two  miles  to  the  south.  A  great  deal  of  wreckage  was  found.  Two   bodies  were  discovered  along  with  a  seaman’s  chest,  which  helped  to  identify  the  vessel  as  the  brigantine  “Sicie”,  which  had  sailed  from  Swansea  bound  for  Lorient  with  a  cargo  of  coal.
1911 – December.  The German steamship  “Amisia”,  went ashore near Sully Island but the crew were able to walk ashore at low water.
1912 -  February  17th. The  Cunard  steamship  “Veria”,  of  Liverpool,  bound  for  Swansea,  was  steaming  east  near  Porteynon,  when  some  lights  were  seen  crossing  the  bow.  The  steamers  engines  were  put  full  astern,  lifebelts  were  thrown  over  the  side  and  a  boat   launched.  The  steamers  crew  searched  the  area  for  an  hour  and  found  nothing. She  then  proceeded  to  Swansea  and  reported  the  incident  and  after  inquiries   were  made  it  was  found  to  be  the  Swansea  tug  “Charioteer”,  which  had  gone  down  with  her  crew  of  five.
1912  - In February the Greek ship  “Vasilefs Georgios”, was run into in Barry Roads, by the Cardiff steamer Kildonan. The Barry lifeboat stoodby until she was taken in tow by tugs.
1912 – September  5th.  The  Swansea  based  trawler  “Picton  Castle”  was  heading  for  her  home  port  during  a  westerly  gale,  when  off  Oxwich  the  crew  observed  a  schooner  being  swamped  by  heavy  seas  and  capsizing.  The  trawler  launched  her  boat  and  rescued  the  Master,  four  crew  members  and  the  ships  dog  from  the  “Esperance”,  which  had  been  bound  for  Swansea  from  Boulogne  with  a  cargo  of  pitwood.
1912 - On 26th  December  the schooner  “Alice”, of Dunkirk, on her way into Swansea to avoid a storm, grounded near the East Pier. A steam pilot cutter, Beaufort, took her in tow but the rope parted and left the schooner drifting. The Mumbles Lifeboat took off two crew but the Beaufort managed to get another line aboard and towed her into Port.
1912  - On 30th  December the “Vigilant”, went ashore on Breaksea Point. The Barry lifeboat went to her assistance but could not get near enough. Four of the ship's crew were hauled through the sea on ropes to safety but the captain and two others stayed aboard. Fortunately the ship held together and those on board were able to walk ashore at low tide.
1913 – January  20th.  The  S.S.  “Brodland”,   Port  Talbot   for  Punta  Arenas  with  coal,  was  leaving  Port  Talbot  being  towed  by  the  steam  tug  “Emily  Charlotte”,  when  during  a  heavy  squall  the  towrope  parted  and  the  vessel  was  blown  ashore  near  the  Jersey  Beach  Hotel.  The   local  life-saving  apparatus  and  the  local  harbour  master  were  quickly  on  the  scene.  At  first  the  L.S.A.  team  were  unable  to  connect  to  the  ship  but  managed  to  connect  when  the  tide  receded.  After  three  hours,  forty-two  crewmembers  were  brought  ashore  including  the  Master  Captain  Vernon.  The  vessel  was  later  declared  a  total  wreck.
1913  - On 13th February  the Austrian steamship  “Epidauro”, stranded at the foot of Overton Cliffs, Gower. The Port Eynon Lifeboat was launched when the Chief Officer and three men of the Epidauro in the ship's boat arrived at Port Eynon and reported the stranding. Charles Bevan, the lifeboat secretary and the bowman arrived too late to go out with the crew so they walked to Overton Creek to see if they could be of help. There they found a second boat from the Epidauro with two men aboard. The two lifeboatmen joined the crew on this boat and they went out to the ship. As the men from the boat were climbing aboard the Epidauro  the boat was struck by a wave and capsized throwing three men into the sea. Fortunately by this time the lifeboat had arrived and saved them. When the tide receded the Epidauro was left high and dry and the crew were able to walk ashore. However the ship became a total wreck.
1913  - On 15th  February  the Manchester steamer “ Bluebell” foundered on the rocks at Culver's Hole in the Gower, and broke up. The crew were taken off by the Port Eynon Lifeboat.
1913 – November  19th.  The  Cardiff  tug  “Atlas”  collided  with  the  ketch  “Leonora”,  Swansea  to  Barnstable  with  coal.  The  ketch  was  badly  damaged  and  the  crew  abandoned  ship  and  rowed  ashore  at  Mumbles.  The  ketch  drifted  ashore  at  Rotherslade  and  broke  up  in  heavy  weather  the  following  day.Two  days  later  the  steamship  “Merthyr”  ran  ashore  in  thick  fog  at  Oxwich.  The  vessel  refloated  the  next  day  and  proceeded  on  passage.
1914 - On 22nd  February  an assistant pilot and an apprentice, cruising in the cutter “Dawn”, saw the ketch “ Elizabeth Couch”, of Barnstaple, in severe distress, with her sails torn. The weather was too severe for them to get alongside her so they waited for the storm to subside. Eventually, however, they could see that the ketch was close to sinking so they made a daring effort to save the crew. Apprentice Daniel P Davies left the cutter in its punt and pulled for the ketch, whilst assistant pilot William Hooper kept the cutter as close as possible to the ketch, creating shelter for the punt. The two crew got into the punt and were successfully rescued. Daniel Davies was awarded the RNLI Silver Medal and William Hooper the formal Thanks on Vellum.
1914 -    October  14th.  A  collision  occurred  near  the  Helwick  lightship  between  the  steamers  “Corundum”,  Burry  Port  to  Rouen  with  coal,  and  the “Kyleness”,  Swansea  to  Liverpool  with  coal.  The  “Corundum”  foundered  very  quickly  and  the  crew  were  picked  up  by  the  other  vessel  which  returned  to  Swansea  to  land  survivors  and  have  repairs  carried  out  to  he  damaged  bows.
1915  - On 4th   February the Fowey schooner “ I'll Away”, burnt flares to signal her distress off Swansea and the Mumbles Lifeboat went out to find her dragging her anchor and labouring heavily in the storm. The crew of three were saved and the schooner was eventually salvaged.
1915 - On 5th  March  the Steamship “ Dongola”, of Glasgow, went ashore in Porthkerry Bay. Two patrol ships took off the passengers and the ship was subsequently refloated, the Barry lifeboat being in attendance in case of need.
1915 – December  27th.  The  Wexford  schooner  “Elizabeth  Jane”,  which  had  been  sheltering  in  Mumbles  Roads  for  a  number  of  days,  was  observed  firing  distress  signals.  A  strong  gale  was  blowing  and  the  Swansea  pilot  cutter  “Beaufort”,  which  was  on  station  in  the  bay  signalled  for  the  Mumbles  lifeboat  and  proceeded  with  all  haste  to  the  scene..  On  arrival  the  vessel  was  sinking  in  huge  seas  and  despite  lines  being  thrown  to  men  clinging  to  the  rigging,  the  vessel  went  down  with  the  loss  of  all  hands.
1916  - On 1st   January  after standing by the Glasgow steamer “Dunvegan”, which had gone ashore at Oxwich, Gower, the Port Eynon Lifeboat, Janet, returning to port, was struck by heavy seas and capsized twice. Most of the lifeboat men were thrown into the sea but clung to lifelines and managed to get back aboard. However the Cox William Gibbs, 2nd Cox William Eynon and lifeboat man George Harry were found to be missing. Although the lifeboat searched for the missing men they were not found. William Gibbs was a bachelor but a fund was raised for the dependants of the other two men, and a memorial was built at Port Eynon Church.  The loss of the three men resulted in a decision to close the Port Eynon Lifeboat station.
1916 – February  29th. The  Swedish  vessel  “Mercia”,  Bilbao  to  Briton  Ferry  with  iron  ore,  ran  aground  at  Pennard  during  a  severe  snowstorm. Despite  efforts  by  the  pilot  cutter  “Beaufort”  and  the  tug  “Trusty”,  attempts  to  refloat  the  vessel  failed,  A  few  days  later  the  vessel  broke  in  two.  Her  cargo  was  salvaged  later  that  year.
1916 – March  28th.  In  near  hurricane  winds  and  blinding  snow  the   Russian  schooner  “Olga”, Moss  Point,  Mississippi   for  Swansea  with  pit  props,  parted  he  anchor  cables  and  was  blown  onto  Mumbles  Head.  The  crew  managed  to  get ashore  safely  with  the  assistance  of  the  lighthouse  keepers.  The  vessel  was  later  refloated  but  considered  a  constructive  total  loss  and  sold  for  breaking.
1916 – October  29th.  The  former  German  vessel  “Tridonia”,  a  barque  that  had  been  seized  as  a  prize  in a  British  port,  was  on  passage  from  Dublin to  Buenos  Aires  in  ballast.  During  a  severe  gale  the  vessel  lost  some  canvas  and  was  driven  up  channel  and  managed  to  anchor  off  Porteynon  where  she  made  signals  for  a  pilot.  At  the  fourth  attempt,  the  pilot  cutter  “Beaufort”  succeeded  in  getting  a  pilot  aboard.  The  offer  of  a tow  up  the  coast  was  refused.  At  midday  the  following  day  the  anchor  cables  parted  and  the  Not  Under  Command  signals  were  hoisted..  The  vessel  was  driven  ashore  west  of  Oxwich  Point  and  the  Oxwich  and  Rhossili   rocket  companies  were  quickly  in  attendance.  The  Mate,  carpenter  and  two  crewmembers  attempted  to  get  a  line  ashore  but  their  boat  capsized  and  they  were  fortunate  to  get ashore  without  to   harm.  By  the  time  the  evening  tide  started  flooding,  the  vessels  stern  and  most  of  her  main  deck  were  awash  and  the  crew,  including  the  Masters  wife  were  on  the  forecastle  and  jib  boom. The  second  mate  had   panicked  and  locked  himself  in  a  deckhouse  and  was  drowned,  as  was  the  Master,  who  had   gone  to  assist  him.  Lines  were  eventually  put  aboard  the  vessel  and  twenty  survivors,  including  the  pilot  and   the  Masters  wife,  were  brought  ashore.  One  other  seaman  was  drowned  and  lies  buried  in  Oxwich  churchyard.
1916 – November  17th. A  southeasterly  gale  blew  the  previous  evening  and  into   the    morning    when  the  schooner  “St.  Christophe”,  Blaye  nr.  Bordeaux  for  Swansea  with  pitwood,  dragged  her  anchors.  She  was  driven  onto  the  Cherrystones,  at  Mumbles  Head  where  she  settled,  and  with  a  rough  sea  and  an  ebb  tide  she  rapidly  began  to  break  up.  With  the  assistance  of  the  two  lighthouse  keepers  and  the  garrison  based  on  Mumbles  Head,  the  crew  of  eight  were  rescued  after  hand  for  handing  over  a  cable  put  aboard.  The  vessels  dog  was  given a  piece  of  wood  and  he  jumped  into  the  sea  and  swam  ashore  with  it   firmly  between  his  teeth.
1916 – December  26th.  The  French  vessel  “Saint  Louis”,  Bordeaux  for  Swansea,  struck  a  mine  off  Mumbles  Head  and  went  down  with  the  loss  of  three  crewmembers.  The  following  day  another  French  vessel,  the  “Paul  Paix”  arrived  in  Mumbles  Roads  badly  damaged  by  a  mine.
1917 – October  24th. The  steam  hopper  “Franklin” ,  general  cargo  from  Cardiff,  capsized  while  at  anchor  in  Mumbles  Roads  during  a  northwesterly  gale.  The  Mate,  cook,  a  fireman  and  a  seaman,  took  to  the  boat  on  one  side  of  the  vessel  but  were  drowned.  The  Master  and  eight  other  crewmembers  abandoned  from  the  other  side.  Their  boat  was  swamped  but  the pilot cutter “Beaufort” picked up the surviving crewmembers.
1917 – December  5th.  The  steamship  “Seaforth”,  Barry  to  St.  Malo  with  coal,  struck  the  submerged  wreck  of  the  “Franklin”  and  foundered  within  ten  minutes.  The  Master  and  ten  hands  were  picked  up  and  safely  landed  at  Swansea. Both  wrecks  were  raised  the  following  April.
1918 - On 2nd  November  the Belfast steamer “ Devonshire”, was driven ashore East of Swansea in a severe gale. Because most able-bodied men were in the Services due to the War, a scratch crew consisting of veterans manned the Mumbles Lifeboat, and they saved the 13 crew of the steamer.
1918 – November  7th.  Wreckage  was  seen  on  the  Mixon  and  identified  as  Padstow  ketch  “Trebiskin”.  None  of  the  crew were  ever  found.
1918 – November  26th.  The  Norwegian  steamer  “Nanset”  became  stranded  in  Oxwich  Bay  during  thick  fog.  The  crew  got  ashore  safely  in  the  boats  but  the  vessel  capsized  on  the beach.  After  an  unsuccessful  salvage  attempt,  the  vessel  was  broken  up  for  scrap.
1918 – December  2nd.  The steamship  “Tours”,  St  Nazaire  to  Swansea  in  ballast  went  aground  in  Deepslade  Bay, ( also  known  as  Hunts  Bay).  Tugs  failed  to  refloat  the  vessel  and  she  was  sold  for  £1,200,  where  she  lay.  She  was  later  sold  on  to  a  salvage  syndicate  for  £4,500  and  after  many  months  of  hard  work,  the  vessel  was   towed  clear  by  the  tugs  “Challenger”,  “Staghound”  and  “Foxhound”  on  June  29th  1919.
1919 - On 19th  April  in a heavy fog, the Royal Mail Lines steamer “Tyne”, London  to  Swansea  with  a  cargo  cement , cut in two the French brigantine “ Fleur de Marie”, off Swansea. The French crew of five managed to get into their boat and were eventually picked up by the “Tyne” which had been searching for them in the fog. However, the “Tyne” got off course whilst undertaking the search and she eventually ran onto the rocks at  Rothers  Sker,  just  east  of  Rotherslade.     Fortunately the crew of 50 were able to walk ashore and the Tyne was subsequently refloated by  the  tugs  “Challenger|”  and  “Recovery” and taken into Swansea for repair.
1920 - On 9th  May  the 4,000-ton “Merkur”, a German prize, which had been allocated to Finland, leaving Barry with a cargo of coal, was in collision in Barry Roads, with the Spanish steamer Castro Alen from Bilbao. The Merkur immediately foundered and her crew were taken off by a pilot cutter. The Castro Alen was able to reach Newport. Salvage operations on the Merkur took some four months to reach a point where she could be raised from the sea bed, but on 19 September 1920 a thick fog prevented operations. Unfortunately, in the fog, the British steamer Zelo, on passage from Bilbao with iron ore, collided with the fo'csle head of the Merkur, tore a hole in her bottom, and sank alongside the remains of the Merkur. Salvage was then abandoned and the Merkur Buoy still marks the wreckage.
1920 – July  9th.  Two  local  men  observed  a  sailing  vessel  being  driven  ashore  on  Oxwich  Point.  Having  seen  a  man  on board,  they  scrambled  across  the  rocks  to  assist,  but  as  the  man  was  preparing  to  jump  over  the  side,  the  mast  came   down,  killing  him.  It  was  later  discovered  that  the  man  was  Augustine  O’  Shea,  an  Irishman,  who  had  purchased  the  former  Cardiff  pilot  skiff  “Primrose”.  His  body  was  later  recovered  and  is  buried  in  Oxwich  churchyard.
1922  - On 22nd  January the “ Exeter City”, of Bristol, and the “London”, of Dundee, fouled one another whilst at anchor sustaining considerable damage in high seas, whilst the Sea Serpent, of Dover, was in danger of also becoming entangled. The Barry lifeboat (John Wesley) stood by whilst a pilot cutter went to get tugs which eventually removed the vessels from danger.
1923 - In April  the Barry lifeboat (the new Prince David) was called out to search for the boat from the ship  “Dunmail”, with eight men aboard. It was subsequently found that the men had been picked up by the steamship Thamesmead.
1923  - In September the yacht “ Dancingway”, with five men and two women aboard got a rope foul of her propeller and drifted close to the Gore Sands in Bridgwater Bay. The crew were saved by the Barry lifeboat.
1923 – October  27th.  The  Breton  schooner  “Raven”,  having  sailed  from  Swansea  on  October  19th  and  put  back  to  the  Mumbles  for  re-caulking,  was  making  her  way  back  to  Swansea  for  further  repairs  when  she  ran  aground  at  the  harbour  entrance. The  Mumbles  lifeboat,  “Charlie  Medland”,  on  what  was  her  last  trip  across  the  bay,  saved  the  crew  of  five  as  the  vessels  deck  started  to  break  up.
1924 – January  8th. Some  residents   at  Pennard  heard  distress  rockets  at  about  5a.m.  and  discovered  the  Belfast  registered  steamer  “Fellside”,  bound  for  Swansea  with  pitwood,  hard  ashore  at  Heatherslade.  The  crew  abandoned  in  the  ships  two  boats  and  twelve  crew-members  managed  to  get  ashore  in  one  boat.  The  other  boat  sank  with  the  loss  off  one  seaman.  The  vessel  became  a  total  loss  and  was  scrapped.
1926 – March  3rd.  The  schooner  “Harry  Herbert”  of  Kinsale,  bound  for  Liverpool  with   timber,  was disabled  and   driven  up  channel  by  a  strong  gale.  The  vessel  became  stranded  and  was  wrecked  on  the  Lynch  Bank.  Her  crew  managed  to  get  ashore  and  the  wreckage  was  washed  up  on  Burry  Holms.
1926  - In July - The paddle steamer “Cambria”, went aground at Hele Bay near Ilfracombe in thick fog. All 500 passengers were rescued by the Ilfracombe Lifeboat (the Richard Crowley). The Cambria was successfully refloated on the next tide.
1926 - In August  the Italian Steamer “Valesia” (6000 tons) was nearing Barry on a voyage from America with a cargo of coal (the South Wales Coalfield was on strike). There was a thick fog in the Bristol Channel and the ship came too close to Barry Island and grounded near Friars Point. The following morning the holidaymakers at Barry Island could see the remarkable sight of a large ship aground quite close to the beach. The crew had been able to get ashore without injury, but later the ship broke her back and started to fall apart. The cargo was gradually removed (not all officially - there was a coal strike on !).It took two months before the salvage company could finally remove the remains of the Valesia from the island.
1926 – The  steamship  “Cranstone”,  Liverpool   from  Hamburg  with  lignite,  had  discovered  the  cargo  to  be  on  fire  while  abeam  of the  Isle  of  Wight  and  after  many  hours  of  fighting  the  fire,  it  was  decided  to  run  for  Swansea.  The  vessel  arrived  off  the  Mumbles  with  her  sides  glowing  from  the  heat  and  huge  flames  rising  from  the  fore-hold.  The  tugs  “Herculaneum”,  “Mumbles”  and  “Trusty”  beached  the  vessel  and  got  to  work  extinguishing  the  fire.  The  remains  of  the  cargo  were  later  discharged  and  the  vessel  refloated.
1927 – December  6th.  The  Mumbles  ketch  “Gloria”  was  fishing  in  Carmarthen  Bay  when  a  gale  blew  up  and  the  Master  sought  shelter  at  Rhossili.  The  vessel  was  swamped  and  sank  at  her  anchors.  The  crew  got  ashore  safely  with  the  assistance  of  the  local  auxiliary  coastguard.
1929 - On 25th  January  the “Lily” (Captain Tom Berridge), a 33-ton Severn Trow, left Newport, Mon. with 30 tons of coal for Wick St.Lawrence, Somerset. The vessel quickly sprung a leak, but because of the tide the boat could not return to Newport so the Captain and his one crew member, Jack Hunter, manned the pumps continuously in the hope that they would make it to the Somerset coast before the boat sunk ! Unfortunately they were unable to prevent the boat continuing to ship water and eventually the helm was affected leaving the boat unsteerable. As a result they were carried along on the tide, luckily missing the rocks off Flat Holm, and arrived in the Barry Roads, only to find the tide turning and carrying them back towards Newport. It was decided to drop anchor and hope that they would be seen by a passing ship. They then concentrated their efforts on pumping, but Captain Berridge (then near 68 years old) collapsed. He was revived by Jack Hunter but the boat was slowly sinking, when by chance a Newport Pilot Cutter, the Nancy, saw them and attempted to tow them to Port, but the Lily broke up under the strain of the tow line, and the two crew members swam to the Nancy.
1929 - March  - The  Greek steamship “Maria Kyriakides”, went aground near Lundy but all 18 crew were saved and the ship was re-floated 18 months later.
1929 –October  31st.  The  Swansea  trawler  “Carew  Castle”  was  returning  from  the  fishing  grounds  when  she  entered  a  fog  bank  and  ran  ashore  near  Culver  Hole,  west  of  Porteynon  Point.  The  vessel  was  badly  holed  and  the  engine  room  flooded.  A  sister  vessel,  the  “Radnor  Castle”,  also  returning  to  Swansea,  stood  by  and  with  a  falling  tided  the  crew of  eleven  were  able  to  walk  ashore.  The  trawler  was  a  total  loss.
1929  - On 1st   November in a thick fog seven vessels became stranded in the River Avon, the four major ones were the Bristol City, the Sappho, the Peursam and the New York City. Fortunately no lives were lost from any of the ships concerned.
1931 – February  25th.  The  tug  “Mumbles”,  owned  by  the  British  Tanker  Co.,  was  returning  to  Swansea  after  assisting   the  disabled  “British  Motorist”,  when,  during  thick  fog  and  heavy  rain,   she  ran  aground  west  of  Oxwich  Point.  The  crew  safely  abandoned  ship.  Despite  attempts  by  the  Swansea  tug  “Herculaneum”  to  refloat  her,  the  vessel  broke  up.
1933 – December  18th.  The steamship  “Ben  Blanche”  of  Ramsey  I.O.M.,  bound  from  Dundrum  to  Swansea  with  potatoes,  struck  the  rocks  below  Paviland  caves  during  very  thick  weather.  The  Mumbles  lifeboat  “Edward  Prince  of  Wales”  was  launched  at  0215h  and  reached  the  vessel  at  0515h  to    find  her  submerged.  A  search  of  the  coast  by  the  lifeboat  resulted  in  the  crew  of  seven  being  rescued  from  their  boats.  The  vessel  was  a  total  loss.
1934 - On 26th  March  two Greek steamships, the “ Doris” and the  “Tsiropinas” were in collision off the Breaksea  Light. The “Tsiropinas” was badly holed above and below the water line. The Barry lifeboat went to the scene and the cox advised that the she should be beached as soon as possible. The Bristol steam pilot cutter Queen Mother, also in attendance, put a pilot and some apprentices aboard and took the “Tsiropinas” to Whitmore Bay, Barry, where she was beached on the level sands. At  low  tide a temporary repair was affected and she could be towed to Barry Dock for permanent repair.
1934  - On October 21st  the MV  “Actuosity”, went ashore at Colhugh Point between Aberthaw and Llantwit Major. Her engine room and fore hold were flooded. With the fall of the tide, however, she was refloated and a massive salvage operation began, which lasted until December of that year.
1935 - On 8th  April  the Belgian ship “ Suzan”, went ashore at Breaksea Point near Barry. Fortunately she was pulled clear by the tugs Eagle and Wardleys.
1935 - On 17th  September  the French schooner “ Goeland”, was driven across Swansea Bay on a voyage from Roscoff to Swansea and the Master (Captain Yves Kerbel) decided to try to make port at Cardiff rather than turn into the storm and head for Swansea. Unfortunately the ship took a severe battering which broke the boom, smashed the steering wheel and injured the captain.  He tried to steer to the beach at Porthkerry but was unable to do so and was being propelled before the gale. His distress signals were seen by a farmer at Rhoose and the Coastguard sent a message to the Barry Lifeboat (Prince David). The Barry cox was not at home but Mr Archibald.C.Jones a retired dock pilot and secretary of the Lifeboat Station obtained a crew and took the lifeboat out himself. He headed to Friars Point off Barry Island for which the Goeland  was now heading before the wind in a terrible state, with no masts or rigging and almost on her beam ends. One of the crew of the Goeland had already gone into the water trying to escape falling debris and the lifeboat had to pick him up first. She then managed to get alongside the ship and the captain and the remaining crew of four including a boy of 12 and one of 14, slid down the side of the ship into the lifeboat.  The lifeboat crew, Henry Hobbs, Hewitt Swarts, Stanley Alexander, Thomas Alexander, William Cook, Henry Housdon and Frederick Searle, were all awarded bronze medals by the RNLI. The acting cox Mr A.C.Jones receiving a silver medal. The French government also awarded Mr Jones and the lifeboat crew as well as Mr Jenkin Lougher the Rhoose farmer who initially raised the alarm, the medailles de sauvetage..
1937 – January  10th.  Burnham  Radio  received  a  message  from  the  Swansea  trawler  “Roche  Castle”,  reporting  that  she  was  aground  “about  ten  miles  west  of  Mumbles”.  The  vessel  belonged  to  Consolidated  Fisheries  and  was  returning  to  her  home  port  to  land  her  catch. The  Mumbles  lifeboat  was  launched  and  search  parties  were  organised  along  the  coast. Two  other  Consolidated  Fisheries  vessels,  the  “Powis  Castle”  and  the  “Grosmont  Castle”  were  in  attendance  but  their  ailing  sister  was  too  close  inshore  for  them  to  be  of  any  assistance.  The  Master  was  hopeful  that  the  vessel  could  be  refloated  on  the  next  flood  tide.  When  the  tide  rose  the  vessel  heeled  towards  the  shore  and  was  being  swept  by  heavy  seas.  A  Breeches  Buoy  had  been  rigged  earlier  and  two  men  got  into  the  buoy  and  as  it  was  being  hauled  ashore,  the  hawser  became  slack  owing  to  the  vessel  working  in  the  sea,  and  quickly  became  taut  again,  throwing  one  of  the  men  into  the  sea  where   he  drowned.  In  less  than  an  hour  the  Master,  the  Mate  (who  was  the  Masters  brother”  and  eight  remaining  crew  members  were  rescued.
1938 - On 15th  January  the 4,345-ton Greek vessel “ George J Goulandris”, with a crew of 28, having left Cardiff in ballast for Spain, became out of control when something went wrong with her engines during a severe gale off Lynmouth Foreland, Devon. She was driven across the Channel toward Nash Point. She radioed an SOS and the Barry lifeboat (Rachel and Mary Evans) was sent to her assistance. The ship was by this time off Breaksea Point and broadside to the waves. The lifeboat made three attempts to get a rope aboard in an effort to pull the ship round to face in the direction of Barry, and at the third attempt, was successful. The lifeboat then commenced the task of towing the ship to Barry. This difficult task was, fortunately, eased when the wind dropped, and the ship eventually reached Barry Roads where tugs took her to Barry Docks for repair.
1938 – January  16th.  After  the  appalling  weather  of  the  previous  day,  two  bodies and  a  ships  boat were  washed  ashore  on  Rhossili  beach.  They  were  crew  members  of  the  Swansea  steamship  “Glanrhyd”,  Newport  for  Manchester  with  coal  duff.  During  the  next  few  days  a  further  six  bodies  were  washed  ashore  between  Slade  and  Whitford.  An  inquiry  into  the  vessels  loss  concluded  that exceptionally large seas, possibly in the vicinity of the Helwick lightship, had probably overwhelmed her.
1938  - On 12th  August the steamship “ Norman Queen”, ran ashore on Flat Holm but refloated.
1938  - On 4th   October the  “Eldonpark”, was drifting toward Nash Point with engine failure when the engineers managed to get them working again in the nick of time and she was able to make Cardiff.
1938 - On 27th  November  the Breton schooner “ Ideal”, was wrecked near Aberthaw on passage from Swansea for Dahouet. She had lost her bow-sprit and head-sails off Bull Point, Devon, and been driven up Channel  toward the Welsh coast going aground on the beach off Colhugh Point. The Llantwit Major rocket apparatus arrived in time to save three of the crew, one scrambled ashore but another was
drowned.
1939 – October.  The  “Lochgoil” ,  Vancouver  from  Newport, and  the  “Marwarri”,  Belfast  to  Newport,  were  both  damaged  by  mines  and  beached  at  the  Mumbles  for  repairs. The  “Lochgoil”  was  renamed  “Empire  Rowan”  in  1940  and  was  sunk  in  March  1943  by  an  aircraft  torpedo  off  the  Algerian  coast.  The  “Mawarri”  was  repaired  and  served  as  a  transport  vessel  in  the  D.  Day  landings  and  survived  the  war  without  further  incident
1940 - On 21st  January  the Alfred  Holt  vessel “ Protesilaus”, of Liverpool, from  her  home  port  to  Barry  in  ballast, hit a mine six  miles  W.S.W.  of Mumbles Head .Twenty  of  the  crew  of  sixty  were  injured  in  the  explosion  of  a  magazine. A naval patrol vessel took off 53 people and the Mumbles Lifeboat the remaining 22.  The  vessel  was  later  beached  at  Oystermouth  but  broke  in  two.  Some  months  later  the  fore  part  was  towed  to  Briton  Ferry  and  later  to  Scapa  Flow  for  use  as  a  blockship.  She  developed  a  serious  leak  en  route  and  was  sunk  by  gunfire.
1940  - On 7th   February the Greenock steamship “Eldonpark” went aground near Port Eynon in a strong wind and severe rain, which made visibility poor. The ship was holed and submerged except for her wheelhouse where all 37 crew were sheltering. The Mumbles Lifeboat went to her but was unable to attempt a rescue in the prevailing conditions so stood by for four hours until the tide ebbed when all the crew were removed to safety. The ship became a total loss and her remains can still be seen. The Cox of the Mumbles Lifeboat, W.E.Davies was awarded the formal Thanks of the RNLI inscribed on vellum.

1940  - On 16th  March the Yugoslav ship “ Slava”, was torpedoed off Lynmouth, Devon.  Survivors were rescued by another ship.
1940 - On 28th  May  the banana ship “Carare” caught fire and sunk after an explosion in the Channel. The Minehead, Lynmouth, Ilfracombe and Barry lifeboats went in search of survivors but a naval patrol boat found the crew first and rescued them.
1940 – November  12th.  The  Mumbles  lifeboat  was  returning  to  from  an  unsuccessful  call  to  a  vessel  ashore  at  Ogmore  in  near  hurricane  force  winds.  The  coastguard  signalled  the  lifeboat  to  proceed  to  another  casualty  at  Overton  and  after  battling  against  mountainous  seas  for  another  hour  they  were  told  the  crew  had  been  rescued  from  ashore  by  the  local  constable  and  coastguard.  The  vessel  was  the  Dutch  salvage  tug  “Wittezee”,  Falmouth  to  Lamlash  on  naval  duties. The  Master  was  rescued  from  the  surf  and  the  remaining  crew  members  were  told  to  remain  aboard  until  the  ebb.  The  tug  was  a  total  loss  and  later  sold  for  scrap.  The  tugs  Master  presented  the  tug’s  wheel  to  the  landlord  of  the  Ship  Inn  who  had  fed  and  clothed  them  after  the  rescue.
1940 – October  26th.  The  Norwegian  whale  factory  ship  “Strombus”,  Swansea  to  the  Antarctic  with  coal,  struck  a  mine  two  miles  east  of  the  Mumbles  Head,  All  forty  crew  members  were  saved  but  the  vessel  broke   in  two.  The  stern  section  capsized  and  sank  but  the  fore  section  was  beached  and  two  years  later  was  towed  to  Briton  Ferry  for  breaking  up.
1940  - On 6th  December the “ South Coaster”, of London, bound for Cardiff in ballast got into difficulties near the Breaksea Lightship. The Barry lifeboat (Rachel and Mary Evans) was launched with only five hands aboard. The master of the distressed ship did not want to abandon ship but asked for a tug. The lifeboat ordered up a tug which set out but was forced back by the seas despite two attempts to reach the ship. The cox of the lifeboat again advised the master to abandon ship and this time he agreed. The lifeboat managed on its first attempt to take off one man. On the second attempt the other 9 crew managed to get into the lifeboat. The lifeboat cox, David Lewis, was awarded the RNLI bronze medal and the mechanic, George Allin, the formal Thanks of the RNLI.
1941 - On 20th  January  the Liverpool owned “ Cornish Rose”, dragged her anchors in a severe gale off Swansea and was very close to the shore. The Captain of the ship was about to launch the ship's boat when the Mumbles Lifeboat arrived and the Cox, William Gammon, took the lifeboat alongside in very difficult conditions and all crew were saved. Cox Gammon and Mechanic Robert Williams were both awarded the Bronze Medal of the RNLI.
1941 – February  20th. The steamship  “Fort  Medine”,  Wabana  (Newfoundland),  to  Port  Talbot  with  7.000t  of  iron  ore  hit  a  mine  and  sank  about  a  mile  east  of  Mumbles  Head.  The  forty  six  crew  members  were  taken  off  by  the  pilot  cutter.
Eight  days  later  the  M.V.  “Cabenda”,  Shoreham  to  Briton  Ferry  with  scrap,  also  hit  a  mine  and  sank  east  of  Mumbles  with  the  loss  of  one  crew  member
1941 – March  21st.  The  “London  II”,  Manchester  to  Cardiff  with  steel  billets  and  scrap,  was  bombed  by  German  aircraft  a  few  miles  south-west  of  the  Helwick  Lightship.  Four  of  the  crew  of  eighteen  were  killed  and  the  vessel  was  abandoned  on  fire.  She  drifted  up  the  coast  and  eventually  sank  six  miles  southwest  of  Mumbles  Head.
On  the  same  day  the  “Millisle”,  Cardiff  to  Cork  with  coal  was  bombed  and  sank  two  miles  east  of  the  Helwick  lightvessel.  Nine  crew  members  and  the  gunner  were  killed.
1942  - October- Dutch motor cruiser “Atlas”, stranded near Lundy. Only the mate survived out of a crew of nine.
1944  - On 11th   October  the Royal Canadian Navy frigate “Cheboque”, which had been torpedoed in the Atlantic, was towed to Mumbles Roads where she anchored awaiting docking at Swansea. A strong gale blew up that night and the frigate began to drag her anchors. Her stern grounded on the bar off Port Talbot and a large part of the ship was under water. The Mumbles Lifeboat arrived and the Captain of the frigate asked for the 42 crew to be taken off. It was impossible to take off the crew by the normal methods so Cox William Gammon decided that the only way was to take the lifeboat through the surf, past the frigate, and then turn into the gale and get close enough for the crew to jump into the lifeboat. This had to be accomplished more than 10 times as the lifeboat could only stay alongside for a few seconds each time and only two or three men could jump on each occasion. The rescue took an hour and a half to accomplish and all 42 crew were saved, though one broke a leg, one fell into the water between the lifeboat and the frigate and
had to be pulled out very swiftly before he was crushed when the two craft came together. One of the crew fell on top of Cox Gammon and caused him serious bruising !Cox Gammon was awarded the RNLI Gold Medal, Mechanic William Davies received the Bronze Medal, as did Bowman Thomas Ace. The remaining crew members received the formal Thanks on vellum of the RNLI. Amongst the crew were two men over 70 years of age and two over 60.
1946 - On 9th   February  the Glasgow ship “Coulgorm”, stranded on Cardiff Grounds but was able to refloat.
1946 –December  1st.   The  American  tanker  “Tillamook”,  Swansea  for  Abadan  in  ballast,  ran  aground  near   Sker  Point  in  a  violent  storm.  The  Mumbles  lifeboat,  coastguard  and  the  Porthcawl  Rocket  Apparatus  team  were  all  in  attendance  but  the  Master  decided  it  was  safer  for  the  crew  to  remain  on  board..  The  conditions  the  following  day  prevented    tugs  from  Swansea    reaching  the  vessel,  but  one  Swansea  tug,  the  “Majestic”,  owned  by  the  Britannia  Steam  Towing  Co.,  did  get  close  enough  to  get  a  line  aboard.  The  heavy  seas  that  were  now  running  soon  caused  the  line  to  part. By  December  4th,  conditions  had  improved  enough  for  six  Swansea  tugs  and  the  Dutch  ocean  going  tug  “Zwarte  Zee”  to  attempt  to  refloat  the  vessel.  After  five  hours,  in  very  difficult  conditions,  their combined  efforts  proved  fruitless.  The  “Tillamook”  was  eventually  refloated  on  February  6th  1947  and  towed  into  Swansea  docks  by  the  salvage  tug  “Twyford”  and  tugs  belonging  to the  Alexandra  Towing  Company.
The  vessel  left  Swansea  for  the United  States,  minus  her  rudder,  under  tow  of  the  American  tug  “Farallon”  on  May  21st  1947.
1947  - On 23rd  April  the British ship  “Samtampa” (an ex Liberty ship, 7000 tons) (Captain Sherwell) bound from Middlesborough to Newport developed engine trouble in Swansea Bay and dropped anchor whilst the problem was sorted out. Later that afternoon the anchor cables parted and the ship drifted eastward before a very strong wind towards Nash Shoal. A distress message was sent and the Mumbles Lifeboat (Edward, Prince of Wales) was launched under cox William Gammon. At the first attempt the lifeboat did not find the ship and returned home where the exact position of the Samtampa was given. The lifeboat set out again and was last seen heading across Swansea Bay toward the South East. At about the same time as the lifeboat went out the Samtampa went aground off Sker Point near Porthcawl and began to break up. Attempts by Porthcawl Life Saving Company to get a line aboard with their rockets were thwarted by the severe weather conditions, but next morning after the weather had improved the police managed to get aboard the wreck, now broken into three pieces, but none of the crew of 31 had survived. The Mumbles Lifeboat never made it to the ship. It was found capsized about 450 yards from her, and all eight crew had been lost. The crew of the Samtampa were buried in Porthcawl cemetery and the lifeboat crew at Mumbles churchyard. The replacement lifeboat was named William Gammon in memory of the drowned cox of its predecessor.
1949  - On 13th  November,   the Spanish steamer  “Monte Gurugu”, (Captain Luis Numalrz) on a voyage from Newport, Mon. to Bilbao, Spain, with coal, on approaching Hartland Point, Devon was hit by a series of severe waves which broke her rudder adrift, and the ship started to leak severely. An SOS was sent and then the order to Abandon Ship was given. The ship's two boats were lowered but one was severely damaged in the process and the 12 men on board thrown into the sea. Two crew members also managed to get into a dinghy, but the Captain, being the last to leave had to jump into the sea, where he was picked up by the ship's lifeboat. Quickly after the ship was abandoned one of her boilers blew up and she broke in two and sank. The SOS sent by the ship was picked up by a tanker, the Lady Frederica, but she was unable to assist without putting her crew in danger, and by the Coastguards who alerted the Appledore, Clovelly and Ilfracombe Lifeboat Stations. The Clovelly Lifeboat, the William Cantrell Ashley, went out in search of survivors near Hartland Point, but the wreck had taken place further away, The Appledore Lifeboat, Violet Armstrong, found five bodies and the remains of the ship's boat which had been damaged during launch, the they found one man only just alive and headed for Ilfracombe to enable him to receive urgent medical attention. The Ilfracombe Lifeboat, Richard Silver Oliver,  under cox Cecil Irwin, was launched despite very severe weather conditions and headed for Woolacombe Bay in the hope of picking up any boat that was driven that way by the weather. They did indeed find the remaining ship's boat full of survivors in great difficulties. A grapnel was eventually secured and the boat towed into deeper water in order to get the survivors aboard the Ilfracombe Lifeboat. Twenty-three crew were saved. The dinghy, which had carried the radio operator and another man was washed up on Woolacombe Sands, and the radioman survived but the other man died. The Ilfracombe Lifeboat went out again to search for more survivors but none were found. Despite a further search the next day by the Lifeboats and aircraft from RAF Chivenor the remaining six men were never found. The Spanish Lifeboat Society awarded its Silver Medal to each of the three coxes and all lifeboat
crewmembers were awarded a diploma.  All awards were presented at a ceremony on Ilfracombe Pier on 30 June 1950. The coxes of the Appledore and Ilfracombe boats also received a bronze and silver medal respectively from the RNLI.
1953  - On 24th  August  the English & Welsh Grounds Lightvessel sprung a leak in a severe gale and heavy seas. The Barry lifeboat went out to her and stood by until the Trinity House tender, Vestal, arrived from her Swansea base.
1954  - On 10th  November the Trinity House vessel  “Alert” reported the sand dredger “ Bowstar”, of Cardiff, was in difficulties near Steep Holm. The Barry lifeboat went to her aid but the master decided not to abandon ship but to try to get to Newport by going slowly astern, but requested the lifeboat to accompany him in case of need. The dredger made it back to the River Usk.
1957 – June  28th.  The  destroyer  “Cleveland”  was  being  towed  by  the  “Brynforth”,  a  tug  belonging  to  the  Britannia  Steam  Towing  Co.,  from  Cardiff  to  the  breakers  yard  at  Llanelli.  The  tow  parted  and  the  destroyer  ended  up  at  Diles  Lake,  a  stream  running  onto  Llangennith ,  near  Rhossili.  Numerous  efforts  to  refloat  the  vessel  on  spring  tides  failed  and  the  vessel  was  eventually  scrapped  where  she  lay.
1960 - On 18th  June  another dredger, the “Ron Woolaway”, of Barnstaple, only in service for one week, capsized near Flat Holm. The crew of seven swam ashore at Flat Holm and were taken to Barry by the lifeboat. A sister ship, the Stan Woolaway, connected a hawser to the upturned dredger and later Cardiff tugs towed her to Penarth where she was eventually uprighted and repaired.
1962 - On 8th  January  the coastal motor tanker “Candourity”, of London, had engine trouble off Breaksea Point in severe weather. A tug eventually got a hawser to her and towed her to Barry Roads.
1962  - On 25th  January the Dutch motor vessel  “Carmen”, of Groningen, stranded on Sully Island but was refloated the following day and towed to Cardiff by the tug Emphatic, escorted by the Barry lifeboat.
1962 the  “Green Ranger”, a 3000 ton Fleet Auxiliary tanker being towed to Cardiff by the tug Caswell for a refit became detached from the tug when the cable parted in heavy seas. She had only a skeleton crew of seven aboard and was driven towards Hartland. An RAF helicopter from Chivenor was unable to rescue the crew because of the severe winds, Hartland Lifesaving Company could not get a line to her by rocket in the wind, and the Clovelly Lifeboat was unable to reach her in the heavy seas, but Appledore Lifeboat (Louisa Anne Hawker) under cox Sydney Camm did get to her but found no sign of the crew. Later it was found that the crew had been rescued from the shore. Three volunteers from the Hartland Lifesaving Company had climbed down the cliff face in terrible conditions in order to be able to get close enough to the ship to get a rocket on board. This they did and the crew were hauled to safety by line. The Hartland Lifesaving Company were awarded the Wreck Service Shield for their bravery. Cox Camm of the Appledore Lifeboat received the RNLI Silver Medal and the lifeboat crew received the thanks of the RNLI on vellum.
1965 – May.  The  Swansea  fishing  vessel  “Allegiance”  was  fishing  south  of  Caldey  Island  when  an  electrical  fault  caused  a  fire  on  board.  After  ninety  minutes  spent  fighting  the  blaze  the  trawler  was  abandoned  and  the  four-crew  members  were  picked  up  by  the  Swedish  ore  carrier  “Saggat”  and  later  transferred  to  the  Tenby  lifeboat.  The  Swansea  tug  “Sloyne”  was  despatched  to  the  scene  and  the  crew  managed  to  extinguish  the  fire  using  hoses  and  towed  the  stricken  trawler  into  Swansea  Docks.  During  the  tow  up  channel  the  fishing  vessel’s  fuel  tanks  exploded  sending  flames  thirty  feet  in  the  air.
1981 -  On 3rd  August  the motor vessel  “Prince Ivanhoe” (Captain David Neill) was on one of its regular  pleasure trips in the Bristol Channel from Penarth, Glamorgan to Minehead, Somerset and then to Mumbles and the Gower coast, Glamorgan. Just as the boat turned into Port Eynon Bay, Gower, there was a loud report and the captain realised that the boat had been holed, but he did not realise how badly. Passengers were advised to put on lifebelts and go to the muster stations as a precaution, although there was no great danger. He sent an SOS message which was heard by the Coastguard Station at Mumbles, who alerted the RAF Air-Sea Rescue helicopters and the lifeboat stations at Horton and Mumbles. Meantime the captain had found that the boat was taking on water at an alarming rate and he decided that the best course of action would be to beach her. He brought her very carefully inshore and grounded her on the sands about 100 yards from the beach. In a perfectly organised rescue the Horton and Port Eynon lifeboats took off the 450 passengers, women and children first. Unfortunately,  two  passengers  suffered  heart  attacks  and  one  of  them  died.  Then the Mumbles Lifeboat arrived and took off the ship's instruments, stores and the crew. Letters of appreciation were sent by the RNLI to the coxes of the Horton & Mumbles lifeboats. The cause of the wreck was never finally decided and it took three years for the remains of the boat to be removed from the sands.
1983 – September  2nd.  During  a  south-westerly  gale,  the  salvage  vessels  “Tom  Jay”  and  “Seawork  Samson”,  which  were  both  involved  in  breaking  up  the  wreck  of  the  “Prince  Ivanhoe”,  were  driven  from  their  moorings.  They  ended  up  ashore  between  Horton  and  Slade.  The  vessels  were  later  refloated  when  the  weather  moderated

 

List of Storms
Entries in this list are from Haydn's Dictionary of Dates published in 1892, except where noted as follows:
PB

DATE

NOTES

1696

200 colliers lost, with most of their crews

1703 Nov 26-27

The Great Storm. 8000 drowned. 12 men-of-war lost with 1800 crew.

1737 Oct 11

India. Hundreds of vessels cast away. A fleet of Indiamen greatly damaged

1768 Oct 25

Havannah, hurricane

1775 Oct 29

North of England. Many vessels destroyed. Four Dublin Packets foundered.

1782 April 22

Surat, 7000 died.

1794 Oct 6

Throughout Great Britain. Several hundred ships destroyed or damaged.

1800 Nov 8

London and most of England.

1814 Dec 16-17

Great Britain and Ireland. Immense damage, many ships wrecked.

1816 Aug 31

English coast. Great number of vessels lost, and much damage to shipping in general

1819 Sep 20-22

St. Thomas, Leeward Islands. 104 vessels lost.

1821 Nov

Durham to Cornwall. Many vessels lost

1822 Dec 12

Ireland, especially Dublin

1828 Jan 12-13

Coast of England. Many vessels lost, 13 wrecked in Plymouth alone

1828 Feb 18

Gibraltar. More than 100 vessels destroyed

1831 July 16

Cape of Good Hope

1838 Oct 28

London. Described as "Hurricane"

1839 Jan 6-7

West coast of England, and Ireland. Coasts and harbours covered with wrecks.

1852 Dec

Many destructive storms

1853 Jan

Many destructive storms

1854 Nov 13-16

Black Sea. Much loss of life and of shipping sent to the Crimea.

1854 Dec 31

N. coast of Europe

1857 Nov 23

N.E. Scotland. 42 fishermen lost

1859 Oct 25-26

The Royal Charter lost and many other vessels

1859 Oct 31

Storm

1859 Nov 1

Storm

1860 Jan 1

English Channel. Much loss of life and property.

1860 Feb 26-28

Gales, much mischief

1860 June 2

Gale, much mischief

1861 Feb 20-21

Great storm

1861 May 28

British coasts. 143 wrecks

1861 Nov 13-14

N.E. England. 50 wrecks

1862 Oct 19-20

British coasts. Many wrecks

1863 Jan 19

Severe gales, much damage and loss of life

1864 Oct 5

Calcutta, great cyclone, 30ft tidal surge, immense damage to shipping and houses,

60,000 persons perished.

1864 Dec 13

Lisbon. Hurricane, worst for many years.

1865 Jan 14

Gale off Great Ormes Head, Lelia cutter wrecked, several lives lost

1866 Jan 6-11

Severe gales, with many wrecks, especially Torbay and Biscay

1867 Dec 2-4

Severe gales

1868 Jan 22

Severe gales

1868 Jan 31

Severe gales

1868 Feb 1

Severe gales

1869 Sept 11-12

Severe gales.

1872 Jan 24

Severe storm, much damage. Barometer very low

1872 June 24-26

Violent storms, southern counties

1872 July, August

Very stormy

1872 Dec 8

Violent gale, much destruction. Wind 57 m.p.h.

1873 July 22-23

Scotland and N. England

1873 Dec 16

Storm, Lancashire and Yorkshire

1874 July 11

N.E. London

1874 Sept 22

Typhoon, Macao and Hong Kong

1874 Oct 21

Violent gale, with destruction of life and property

1874 Nov 29

Violent gale, with destruction of life and property

1874 Dec 7,8,10,11

Violent gales, with destrution of life and property

1875 Jan 1,3

Severe snowstorms, Scotland

1875 March 12

Severe snowstorm, S. England. Destruction of life and property

1875 Sept 15-18

Galveston, Texas. Great loss of life

1876 Nov 11-13

Severe storms, great loss of shipping

1876 Dec 2,3,23,24

Severe gales, great loss of shipping

1877 Jan 2

Severe gale, great loss of shipping

1877 Oct 14,15

Great destruction on land and shipping throughout England

1877 Nov 24,25

Much damage on S.E. coast

1878 Apr 10-11

Storm and heavy rain, London

1878 Aug

Thunderstorms destroying life and property

1879 Aug 16, 17

Cheshire and Wales

1879 Dec 28

Violent gale, Scotland. Tay bridge destroyed

1880 Jul

Many thunderstorms, England

1880 Oct 27, 28

Severe storms, England

1881 Jan 17-21

Severe blizzard, great loss of life at sea

1881 Oct 8

Haifong (Haiphong), China. Typhoon, 300,000 persons perished.

1881 Oct 14-19

Violent hurricane, England. About 130 wrecks.

1881 Oct 19-20

Many wrecks on S. and W. coasts of England, with much loss of life.

1881 Nov 26, 27

Great destruction of life and property by gales

1881 Dec 17-21

Many wrecks and loss of life

1882 Jan 6

Severe gale, much destruction, England and Scotland

1882 April 29

Severe gale

1882 Aug 22, 23

Violent gales with damage

1882 Oct 24

Violent gale with damage

1883 Jan 26-28

Violent gales

1883 Feb 10

Violent gale

1883 March 6

Violent gale

1883 Sept 1-2

Violent gale in British Channel, many wrecks

1883 Sept 26

Destructive gale on Scottish and Irish coasts

1883 Dec 12

Great loss of life and damage

1884 Jan 23-24,26,27

Violent S.W. gales, destruction of life and property, many disasters

1884 Oct 7

Sicily

1885 Oct 12-15

Heavy storms, Labrador coast. 80 craft wrecked, 300 lives lost

1885 Dec 2

Colon, Panama. 15 vessels wrecked, 50 lives lost

1886 Aug 16

Hurricane at St. Vincent. Great loss of life and property

1886 Oct 12

Violent gale, Texas, 250 persons drowned

1886 Oct 15-16

Very destructive gale on sea and land.

1886 Dec 8, 9

Destructive gale and storm especially S and W England. many wrecks and loss of life.

1886 Dec 26-27

Destructive snowstorm, specially E and S England. Many wrecks.

1887 Aug 16

Destructive hurricane, Bordeaux and S France

1887 Aug 17

Many thunderstorms throughout the country

1887 Oct 30

W gale, destruction of life and property in France, the Channel and S England

1887 Oct 31-Nov1

Destruction at Holyhead, Liverpool and the Bristol Channel

1887 Nov 3

Gale, S.E. coast

1888 Jan 26

Blizzard, New York

1888 Mar 9-11

Violent gale; several wrecks and loss of life.

1888 Mar 11-13

USA east coast. Many wrecks, 400 lives lost.

1888 Mar 28

Great storm and tidal wave, Wellington New Zealand

1888 Sep 4

Destructive cyclone in the West Indies.

1888 Nov 15-16

Destructive gale, Scotland, N. England and Ireland; many shipwrecks;

Forth bridge damaged.

1888 Nov 25

USA East coast. 50 vessels wrecked and 45 lives lost.

1889 Feb 2,3,8

Destructive gales over Britain; wrecks and loss of life.

1889 Mar 15,16

Violent hurricane in the Pacific (Samoan Isles)

1889 May 10

USA East coast, destructive storm.

1889 Aug 21

Great storm over the United Kingdom; wrecks with loss of life.

1889 Sep 11-12

Severe gales Long Island, New Jersey etc. wrecks with loss of life.

1889 Sep 13

Delaware Bay, 29 vessels wrecked, 31 lives lost.

1889 Oct 5-7

Great storms over the United Kingdom; wrecks with loss of life.

1889 Oct 7

Great storm in Sardinia.

1889 Oct 26-27

Destructive storm on the coast of Carolina.

1890 Jan 17-27

Destructive gale with loss of life in the Atlantic and on British coast,

especially S. and W., high tides and floods.

1890 Nov 6-7

714 lives saved by lifeboats during the great gale

1890 Dec 3

Gale in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, 40 vessels wrecked.

1890 Dec 8

Much destruction of shipping and buildings, Newfoundland.

1890 Dec 24

Violent storm in the N. Atlantic, 60 vessels lost.

1890 Jan

68 British wrecks and 67 lives lost.

1890 Nov 7

Violent gale over Great Britain and Ireland, great destruction of life and property,

especially at sea; 114 lives saved by lifeboats.

1890 Nov 23

Violent N.W. gale in the channel, several wrecks on the S. coast.

1891 Feb 12-13

Destructive cyclone over the Fiji and Navigation Isles, great loss of life and shipping.

1891 Mar 9-13

Great blizzard througout England, especially S. and W. Many wrecks and loss of life

 in the channel; hurricanes near Dover and Plymouth; wrecks of fishing boats at

 Hastings and other places.14 ships and 60 lives lost.

1891 Aug 24-26

Destructive storms in Great Britiain, especially the N.W. coast.

1891 Sep 9

Destructive storm off Nova Scotia, 20 vessels wrecked, with loss of life.

1891 Oct 13-15

Much destruction of houses and shipping, moderate loss of life.

1891 Oct 22-24

Severe storm on S. and W. coasts of England, and in Spain and S. France.

1891 Nov 2

Destructive cyclone in the bay of Bengal, with loss of life.

1891 Nov 10-11

England, especially S. and W. coasts, many wrecks, with loss of life, off Sandgate,

Dover, Folkestone, St. Leonards, Brighton etc.

1891 Dec 7-11

Violent gales in the channel, causing wrecks and loss of life.

 

 

amazon

The  Wreck  of  the  Amazon.

Disclaimer.

There are thousands of shipwrecks scattered around the coast of the United Kingdom. The whereabouts and circumstances of these wrecks is readily available for those with the wherewithal to research these vessels.

Obviously, some of the vessels mentioned in this chronology, will have been mentioned in other publications and this is purely coincidental.

The information in this chronology has been obtained from numerous sources, over many hours of painstaking research and is designed to be a quick reference guide and nothing else.